Saturday, April 5

Avatar_57x57

On Michael Jackson’s talent.

Thursday, April 3

Avatar_57x57

“Every Sunday at my house … we watched The Ed Sullivan Show…. Whether we enjoyed it or not. That was my first lesson in show business. I don’t think anybody in the house particularly enjoyed it. We just watched it. Maybe that’s the purpose of television. You just turn it on and watch it whether you want to or not.”

Tuesday, April 1

Avatar_57x57

A profile of Pamela Anderson.

Monday, March 31

Avatar_57x57

A mid-career profile of Johnny Cash.

Saturday, March 29

Avatar_57x57

Friday, March 28

Avatar_57x57

The murder of an Iranian band in Brooklyn by one of their own.

Previously: Nancy Jo Sales on the Longform Podcast.

Thursday, March 27

Avatar_57x57

A local reporter set out to profile the celebrated writer. He ended up lampooned in The New Yorker.

Excerpted from Updike.

Wednesday, March 26

Avatar_57x57

The creators of some of the most distinctive craft beers in the world are identical twins from Denmark. They also can’t stand each other.

Previously: Jonah Weiner on the Longform Podcast.

Sunday, March 23

Avatar_57x57

How legends of the American music industry made millions off the work of Solomon Linda, a Zulu tribesman who wrote “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” and died a pauper.

Thursday, March 20

Avatar_57x57

How the group’s 10 members live today.

Wednesday, March 19

Avatar_57x57

On the discovery of a billion dollars worth of artwork looted by Nazis in the cramped apartment of a Munich recluse.

Avatar_57x57

A filmmaker goes to court to fight the television commercial break.