A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store

Sunday, September 7

Avatar_57x57

Revelations

A gospel singer comes out.

Thursday, September 4

Avatar_57x57

Joan Rivers Always Knew She Was Funny

“People always ask Rivers why she doesn’t just retire, enjoy her old age. ‘But they don’t get that I love it,’ she says. ‘All I ever wanted was this. I’m lucky, you idiots.’”

Avatar_57x57

Guitar Drag

The author reflects on a ballad of racial injustice.

Tuesday, September 2

Avatar_57x57

Interview: Bill Hader

“I did a few days on Franco’s As I Lay Dying, and the vibe on the set was very heavy and serious. The only thing I can equate it to is tripping with a bunch of your friends.”

Avatar_57x57

Why I Write

An essay on motivation.

Monday, September 1

Avatar_57x57

Steven Seagal's Fight for Mother Russia

The aging action star’s second wind abroad: political maneuvering, many guns and, most importantly, a market for his B movies.

Saturday, August 30

Avatar_57x57

Delta Nights

On Lucinda Williams and her “love affair with loss.”

Friday, August 29

Avatar_57x57

Hollywood's Big-Money YouTube Hit Factory

Established media companies used to sue YouTube. Now they’re betting on it.

Thursday, August 28

Avatar_57x57

Stranger in the Village

On being black in an all-white Swiss village.

Monday, August 25

Avatar_57x57

The Man Without A Mask

How Cassandro, who wrestles in drag, became a star Mexican luchadore.

Sunday, August 24

Avatar_57x57

I’m Chevy Chase and You’re Not

The bumpy rise of Saturday Night Live’s first star.

Excerpted from Saturday Night, published in 1986.

Friday, August 22

Avatar_57x57

Id Girls

On Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson, the duo behind Broad City.