Thursday, December 25

Avatar_57x57

Doug Seegers’ Nashville Skyline

How a 63-year-old country singer went from a Nashville homeless shelter to #1 on the Swedish charts in under a year.

Tuesday, December 23

Avatar_57x57

What 800 Nerds on a Cruise Ship Taught Me About Life, the Universe, and Snorkeling

Aboard the JoCo Cruise Crazy, a ship captained by singer-songwriter Jonathan Coulton and built for nerds.

Saturday, December 20

Avatar_57x57

The Unbreakable Laura Hillenbrand

How the author writes best-selling non-fiction books without the ability to leave her house.

Thursday, December 18

Avatar_57x57

How Young Thug Got Trapped By A $15,000 Advance From A Major Label

360 degree deals and the music industry’s new hostages.

Wednesday, December 17

Avatar_57x57

Some Girls Want Out

On spectacular saintliness, holy anorexia, and female hysteria.

Tuesday, December 16

Avatar_57x57

The Birdcage

How franchises became the movie business.

Monday, December 15

Avatar_57x57

Amen! (D'Angelo's Back)

A profile of the singer as he returns to the stage for the first time in a dozen years.

Sunday, December 14

Avatar_57x57

Grouses of the Holy

An interview with Jimmy Page on nostalgia, Robert Plant, and why he would only publish an autobiography after he dies.

Saturday, December 13

Avatar_57x57

The Walking Cure

On Cheryl Strayed and why Wild became a hit.

Friday, December 12

Avatar_57x57

Dasher’s Deliverance

Kylee Kimbrough lost her childhood, lost her sobriety, lost her living situation, and finally even lost her son. Then she found the drums.

Wednesday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

Livin' Thing: An Oral History of Boogie Nights

The making and near unmaking of Paul Thomas Anderson’s breakout film.

Tuesday, December 9

Avatar_57x57

The Secret Handshake

The short-lived literary career of Breece DʼJ Pancake and his roadmap to a world of oppressive poverty.