Tuesday, April 7

Avatar_57x57

'Not Here to Be Your Idol'

On Azealia Banks.

Monday, April 6

Avatar_57x57

Into the Black

Kurt Cobain’s suicide sent his fans – and the local media – into a tailspin.

Sunday, April 5

Avatar_57x57

The Cousins Karamazov

David Simon and Richard Price, two of the greatest crime storytellers of our time, talk about their craft.

Avatar_57x57

The Master Writer of the City

Joseph Mitchell used composites in his non-fiction, invented characters and added flourishes to his facts. Does it matter?

Friday, April 3

Avatar_57x57

Stranger Still

Kamel Daoud’s celebrated retelling of Albert Camus’s The Stranger came within two votes of winning the Prix Goncourt. It has also made him a target of radical Islamists.

Wednesday, April 1

Avatar_57x57

Scenes with Joan Scheckel

She teaches directors to direct.

Tuesday, March 31

Avatar_57x57

Those Like Us

On Elena Ferrante, the pseudonymous Italian novelist.

Monday, March 30

Avatar_57x57

Watching Rocky II with Muhammad Ali

“The regular average layman couldn’t see what I see. And the way they’re painting the trainer is all wrong. Look at him there, screaming, Do this! and Do that! I never had anyone telling me what to do. I did it. Shouting at the fighter like that makes him look like an animal, like a horse to be trained.”

Saturday, March 28

Avatar_57x57

John Madden Hockey

The making of an all-time great video game.

Thursday, March 26

Avatar_57x57

The Ad-Rock Retirement Plan

The former Beastie Boy, 48, tries to figure out what’s next.

Wednesday, March 25

Avatar_57x57

Life Lines

Lonnie Sue Johnson is an artist who can’t retain a memory for longer than a minute or two.

Monday, March 23

Avatar_57x57

The Undiminished Charisma of Sarah Lucas

The British artist, a contemporary of Damien Hirst and Tracey Emin, has been called “the most unabashedly all-balls-out, rock ā€˜nā€™ roll” of her generation.