Wednesday, March 18

Avatar_57x57

Harper Lee’s Forgotten True-Crime Project

Many people hoped that this would be the second book she’d publish.

Tuesday, March 17

Avatar_57x57

Desperately Seeking Susan

Being friends with Susan Sontag was thrilling, but also “shot through in the end with mutual irritation.”

Monday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Happy Ugly Feet

What’s behind the cyclical fashionability of the monstrously ugly Birkenstock?

Saturday, March 14

Avatar_57x57
Avatar_57x57

Beloved Monster

The writer Alfred Chester, who died alone in a Jerusalem apartment in 1971 at just 37, was brilliant. He was also insane.

Thursday, March 12

Avatar_57x57

The Brief, Extraordinary Life of Cody Spafford

He was a fixture in the kitchen of one of Seattle’s most celebrated restaurants, with plans to move to New York City to further his career. Then he robbed a bank.

Wednesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

Porntopia

Besieged by pirates, and youngsters unused to paying to watch sex, the porn industry just isn’t what it used to be.

Tuesday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

The Grantland Q&A: Errol Morris

“Some of the best lines — and I’ve been lucky to hear really nutso lines over the years — are not in response to any kind of question. It’s in response to, ‘I don’t know.’”

Sunday, March 8

Avatar_57x57

Queen Sabrina, Flawless Mother

A drag pageant pioneer dropped out of the public eye after the 1960s. What happened to her?

Saturday, March 7

Avatar_57x57

Let Us Now Appraise Famous Writers

A correspondence school for writers turns out to be a sham. This piece forced it into bankruptcy.

Wednesday, March 4

Avatar_57x57

Conrad Hilton and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Flight

An eyewitness tells us what it was like to be there.

Tuesday, March 3

Avatar_57x57

The 'Deaf' Composer Who Fooled a Nation

Mamoru Samuragochi’s story turned out to be too good to be true.