Sunday, June 9

Avatar_57x57

Are Coders Worth It?

On cushy jobs in web development, deeply un-cushy opportunities in writing, and our assumptions about the value of labor.

Friday, June 7

Avatar_57x57

Welcome to Mogadishu

A portrait of the Somali capital.

Avatar_57x57

Silent War

Tracing a secretive cyber-war’s battles and casualties.

Friday, May 31

Avatar_57x57

Women As Bosses

“Some companies are beginning to allow women to take their management-training courses. A woman sitting in on an executive conference is less of a shock to the male than she was only a few years ago. A few big companies–R.C.A., the Home Life Insurance Co., and the New York Central, for example–have even ushered women into the board room.”

Friday, May 24

Avatar_57x57

The Man Who Knew Too Much

The story of a tobacco industry whistleblower.

Avatar_57x57

When Hollywood Wants Good, Clean Fun, It Goes to Mormon Country

Inside Brigham Young University’s successful animation program.

Thursday, May 23

Avatar_57x57

Freeway Rick Is Dreaming

A profile of legendary L.A. crack dealer Freeway Rick Ross, now out of jail and trying to sell everything from weaves to his own biopic, written by a journalist who has known him for decades.

Tuesday, May 21

Avatar_57x57

For John Carona, Conflicts and Interests

On the blurry ethical lines in the part-time Texas state legislature, where politicians and CEO’s are one and the same.

Monday, May 20

Avatar_57x57

Sunday, May 19

Avatar_57x57

Rajat Gupta’s Lust for Zeros

How the former CEO of McKinsey, who was indicted in the largest insider trading case in United States history, got played.

Friday, May 17

Avatar_57x57

Caterpillar's Doug Oberhelman: Manufacturing's Mouthpiece

Caterpillar’s CEO made $22 million last year. Some of his employees are on food stamps.

Thursday, May 16

Avatar_57x57

Greetings from Gun Valley

Inside New England’s thriving arms industry.