Monday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

Friday, January 20

Avatar_57x57

A profile of Harold Hamm, oil baron.

Wednesday, January 18

Avatar_57x57

The story of Standard Motor Products, a 92-year-old family-run auto parts manufacturer, and the transformation of the U.S. manufacturing industry.

Wednesday, January 11

Avatar_57x57

Lessons learned about white-collar crime from an economist turned bagel salesman whose business relied entirely on the honor system.

Sunday, January 8

Avatar_57x57

Con man turned pastor turned con man; a profile of a serial scammer and the movie he tried to make about himself.

Friday, January 6

Avatar_57x57

On switching to the gold standard and a trip to the Yukon to witness the modern gold rush.

Saturday, December 24

Avatar_57x57
TheFacebook, as it was then called, had just reached 1.5 million users:
In the end, Zuckerberg says, quarrels over money rarely come up because money is not their priority. “We’re in a really interesting place because if you look at the assets we have, we’re fucking rich,” Zuckerberg adds. “But if you look at like the cash and the amount of money we have to live with, we’re dirt poor. All the stuff we own is tied up in random assets” like servers and the company itself. “Living like we do now, it’s, like, not that big of a deal for us. We’re not like, Aw man, I wish I had a million dollars now. Because, like, we kind of like living like college students and being dirty. It’s fun."

Friday, December 16

Avatar_57x57

After decades of failed revitalization strategies, a town of 10,000 tries another.

Friday, December 9

Avatar_57x57

How the Mosley Motel, off U.S. 19 in Florida, became the temporary home to at least 27 families turned away from full shelters.

Tuesday, December 6

Avatar_57x57

A pub’s-eye view of Ireland’s recent run of leaders.

Avatar_57x57

A pub’s-eye view of Ireland’s recent run of leaders.

Thursday, December 1

Avatar_57x57

A breakdown of the early 80s homeless epidemic.