Wednesday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

Craps and Cryogenics

How an eccentric industrialist bought Atlantic City’s shuttered Revel casino at a firesale price with a goal to turn it into a “life-extension facility.”

Avatar_57x57

Bullsh*t.

An inside look at how an ad agency sells a car in 2015.

Jessica Pressler on the Longform Podcast

Tuesday, May 5

Avatar_57x57

Lusitania: The Epic Battle Over Its Biggest Mystery

Gregg Bemis is an 87-year-old retired venture capitalist who owns the salvage rights to the Lusitania. He’s determined to prove an alternate theory as to why the ship was attacked in 1915. Unfortunately, the Irish government isn’t so into his plan.

Friday, May 1

Avatar_57x57

Maple Syrup Rebellion

“Quebec is the Saudi Arabia of maple syrup,” and it has the authoritarian regulatory regime to prove it.

Thursday, April 30

Avatar_57x57

ZPM Espresso and the Rage of the Jilted Crowdfunder

What happens when a successfully funded Kickstarter product fails to launch?

Wednesday, April 29

Avatar_57x57

The Boxer and the Batterer

An essay on Floyd Mayweather Jr. as both.

Saturday, April 25

Avatar_57x57

The People’s Republic of Cruiseland

The author boards the Costa Atlantica for several days of line dancing, burlesque and buffets as part of the cruise industry’s new foray into China.

Friday, April 24

Avatar_57x57

Dab Artists

Inside the world of “Wooks,” the loner-craftsmen behind the coming marijuana-concentrate boom.

Thursday, April 23

Avatar_57x57

Trapped Into Selling Magazines Door-to-Door

Inside the abusive practices of magazine-subscription sub-contractors.

Friday, April 17

Avatar_57x57

The Trader in the Wild

Kate Matrosova was a classic overachiever and, at 32, had everything to live for. Still she set out alone into the mountains of New Hampshire—and a deadly storm.

Wednesday, April 15

Avatar_57x57

Secrets of the Tax-Prep Business

How pop-up tax preparers make billions off the poor.

Tuesday, April 7

Avatar_57x57

The Assistant Economy

Nowadays, the young and privileged view un- and under-paid assistantships as the road to a successful creative career. Are they deluding themselves?