Monday, July 14

Avatar_57x57

An investigation into how Rikers Island guards treat the roughly 4,000 inmates who are mentally ill.

Saturday, July 12

Avatar_57x57

No one knew how Suzanne Jovin ended up in a wealthy neighborhood away from Yale’s campus in New Haven, or why she was brutally stabbed on the sidewalk, apparently by someone she knew. The only suspect that police named was her thesis advisor.

Friday, July 11

Avatar_57x57

In the late 1960s, a German named Günther Hauck disappeared in Brazil. When he emerged, he was calling himself Tatunca Nara and claimed to be the chief of the Ugha Mongulala, an previously unknown Indian tribe. Since then he has lived in the Amazon, his legend growing. Jacques Cousteau hired him as a guide. An Indiana Jones movie was based on his stories. And three people who made pilgrimages to see him never came home.

Thursday, July 10

Avatar_57x57

How divisions between Nigeria’s Muslim North and Christian South resulted in the birth of terror’s most ruthless movement.

Monday, July 7

Avatar_57x57

How Javaris Crittenton went from basketball phenom to standing trial on a murder charge.

Saturday, July 5

Avatar_57x57

The survivors of a mass shooting, 20 years later.

Friday, July 4

Avatar_57x57

How the feds went after Thick Neck, Guilty, Stomper, Gunner, Lucky, Menace, and the rest of the Amernian mob in Los Angeles.

Avatar_57x57

How the feds went after Thick Neck, Guilty, Stomper, Gunner, Lucky, Menace, and the rest of the Amernian mob in Los Angeles.

Wednesday, July 2

Avatar_57x57

The life and times of James McClintock, the man behind the famed H.L. Hunley who also may or may not have faked his own death.

Monday, June 30

Avatar_57x57

He was an early video streaming startup founder who threw parties where celebrities like Bryan Singer had sex with teenage boys. Then, he came to believe that music mogul David Geffen was trying to kill him.

Friday, June 27

Avatar_57x57

A profile of Edna Buchanan, a Pulitzer Prize-winning crime reporter for the Miami Herald during its heyday.

Wednesday, June 25

Avatar_57x57

A sociologist learns techniques for evading the authorities.

Excerpted from On the Run.