Sunday, December 20

Avatar_57x57

A Drug Rehab Mogul Built an Empire That's Now Being Probed by the FBI, DA, and State of California

He’s been accused of fraud, sexual assault, and using drugs. But for Chris Bathum, who doesn’t have prior experience treating people struggling with addiction, opening several facilities promising to do just that has been surprisingly easy—and lucrative.

Saturday, December 19

Avatar_57x57

Devils, Deals and the DEA

How agents took down Mexico’s most vicious drug cartel and, in the process, gave El Chapo the opportunity to create an empire.

Wednesday, December 16

Avatar_57x57

The Unbelievable Story of Rape

A woman is accused of lying about being raped. Years later and several states away, the story changed.

Monday, December 7

Avatar_57x57

The Narco-Terror Trap

The DEA warns that drugs are funding terror. But is the agency stopping threats or staging them?

Thursday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Confessions of a Car Salesman

An investigative reporter goes undercover at a dealership to learn the tricks of the trade, of which there are many.

Wednesday, December 2

Avatar_57x57

Leaked Documents Reveal Dothan Police Department Planted Drugs on Young Black Men for Years

An investigation into a group of Alabama officers who systematically framed nearly 1,000 innocent people.

Tuesday, December 1

Avatar_57x57

How to Destroy an American Family

The Straters’ lives have been devastated by relentless cyberattacks. And there’s nothing they can do about it.

Monday, November 30

Avatar_57x57

When a Kid Kills His Longtime Abuser, Who's the Victim?

Vengeance, abuse, and the strange double standards of death penalty politics.

Friday, November 27

Avatar_57x57

How the Gun Control Debate Ignores Black Lives

We know that certain programs can help prevent gun deaths among black men. No one in Washington seems to care.

Monday, November 23

Avatar_57x57

"Everything Was Completely Destroyed"

What it was like to be a rank-and-file Sony employee after the hack.

Saturday, November 21

Avatar_57x57

Magical Thinking About ISIS

On the response to the Paris attacks.

Thursday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

The Murderers Next Door

In a remote corner of Romania, neighbors kill each other over tiny strips of land.