Saturday, December 8

Avatar_57x57

The Rise and Fall of Jeremy Hammond: Enemy of the State

On the U.S. government’s pursuit of a legendary hacker.

Friday, December 7

Avatar_57x57

Escape to Alcatraz

On prison tourism.

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, December 5

Avatar_57x57

Stagger Lee

Reverse engineering the details of a murder that took place in St. Louis on Christmas Night in 1895 from over a century of popular song.

Tuesday, December 4

Avatar_57x57

The Smartest Girls in the Room

How an obscure Australian judge and a hard-charging lawyer put the S&P on trial for the global financial collapse.

Wednesday, November 28

Avatar_57x57

The Devil and John Holmes

He was a nobody who became a porn star, a porn star who became a destitute freebaser, an addict who set up his dealer to be robbed, and finally witness to a retaliatory massacre at the house they called Wonderland.

Monday, November 26

Avatar_57x57

The Truce on Drugs

In Colorado and beyond, a negotiated surrender in the war on drugs.

Thursday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

The Lying Disease

On an affliction for the digital age, “Munchausen by internet.”

Monday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

The Man Who Charged Himself With Murder

Trevell Coleman wasn’t sure whether he’d killed a man. But after 17 years, he needed to find out.

Tuesday, November 13

Saturday, November 10

Avatar_57x57

When Thugs and Hustlers Ruled Dark Alleys

The gamblers and teenage cons who haunted New York City’s 60s-era all night bowling alleys.