Wednesday, October 16

Avatar_57x57

The Last Ride of a Cleveland Hells Angel Informant

A Hells Angel informant’s path from destruction to redemption and back, and a family’s trouble with witness protection.

Wednesday, October 9

Avatar_57x57

Why Mexico’s Sinaloa Cartel Loves Selling Drugs in Chicago

How Chicago is key to a business moving tons of drugs for billions of dollars.

Sunday, October 6

Avatar_57x57

Mugged by a Mug Shot Online

On the online mug shot industry, which posts mug shots of anyone arrested (regardless of conviction) and charges $30 to $400 to have the photo removed.

Friday, October 4

Avatar_57x57
Avatar_57x57

Prisoners of Rock 'n' Roll

Badfinger’s ill-fated attempt at a comeback, as orchestrated by a Milwaukee con man.

Thursday, October 3

Avatar_57x57

How the Feds Took Down the Dread Pirate Roberts

On the fall of Ross William Ulbricht, the alleged creator of The Silk Road, a hidden black market website where users could buy and sell drugs, guns and, according to the FBI, the services of a hit man.

Friday, September 27

Avatar_57x57

Surviving Westgate

An inside account of the Nairobi mall attack.

Wednesday, September 25

Avatar_57x57

Trail of Guilt

How the author, following up on a rumor, helped reignite the dormant investigation into the murder of Martha Moxley, a teenager who had been murdered nearly 25 years before in Greenwich, Connecticut.

Friday, September 20

Avatar_57x57

The Honey Launderers

On the biggest food fraud in U.S. history.

Wednesday, September 18

Avatar_57x57

Tomato Can Blues

Charlie Rowan was a small-time cage fighter who couldn’t catch a break. He owed money to impatient people and needed to start over. Late one night, he came up with a plan.

Avatar_57x57

Blood Spore

What a secret audio tape revealed about the murder of mycologist and magic mushroom pioneer Steven Pollock.

Tuesday, September 17

Avatar_57x57

Inside the National Suicide Hotline

Trying to prevent the next tragedy.