Wednesday, February 19

Avatar_57x57

The dissolution of Rupert Murdoch and Wendi Deng’s marriage amidst evidence of her affairs with Tony Blair and Eric Schmidt.

Friday, February 14

Avatar_57x57

On the adultery website AshleyMadison.com.

Tuesday, February 11

Avatar_57x57

Fifty years after Joseph Mitchell published "Joe Gould's Secret" in The New Yorker, one last question about Gould—the identity of his anonymous benefactor—is answered.

Saturday, February 8

Avatar_57x57

George Trow’s Within the Context of No Context was a brilliant, scary vision of a cultural end-time. Then, having described it, he lived it, spiraling into madness.

Hear Ariel Levy discuss this article and more on the Longform Podcast.

Monday, February 3

Avatar_57x57

An inteview with the Saturday Night Live producer.

Previously: The Longform Guide to SNL.

Tuesday, January 28

Avatar_57x57

How Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction, all nine-sixteenths of a second of it, changed TV, the internet, and American culture.

Monday, January 27

Avatar_57x57

Lunch with recycling tycoon Chen Guangbiao, the self-described “Most Influential Person of China,” to discuss his interest in buying The New York Times.

Friday, January 24

Avatar_57x57

Investigating the murder of a friend and colleague.

Thursday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

At one time, a whole generation of New York Times reporters wished they could write like McCandlish Phillips. Then he left them all for God.

Wednesday, January 22

Avatar_57x57

A profile of the Hot 97 DJ a few months after “he told the truth about who he is, even if it’s not entirely clear—even to Mister Cee himself, even now, to this day—what exactly that truth is.”

Monday, January 20

Avatar_57x57

Friday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

On the legendary journalist and the book he never finished.