Thursday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

Tuesday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

Confidentially Yours

A history of the celebrity profile.

Thursday, May 1

Avatar_57x57

How to Lose $100 Million

The undoing of Tina Brown.

Tuesday, April 22

Avatar_57x57

Blow Up the Box

An interview with Barry Diller about Aereo and the past, present and future of TV.

Previously: Vanessa Grigoriadis on the Longform Podcast.

Thursday, April 3

Avatar_57x57

The Early David Letterman 1967-1980

“Every Sunday at my house … we watched The Ed Sullivan Show…. Whether we enjoyed it or not. That was my first lesson in show business. I don’t think anybody in the house particularly enjoyed it. We just watched it. Maybe that’s the purpose of television. You just turn it on and watch it whether you want to or not.”

Avatar_57x57

Who's Behind Newsweek?

The secretive group that owns the venerable magazine.

Thursday, March 27

Avatar_57x57

Reston On His Laurels

James Reston’s problematic proximity to the powerful.

Sunday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

The Story Behind the Rob Ford Story

The unmuzzling of Canadian journalism.

Saturday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

Mr. Bad News

A profile of New York Times obituary writer Alden Whitman.

Tuesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

My Life and Times in Chinese TV

A surprising trip into the propaganda machine.

Monday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

Where the Wild Things Go Viral

Inside BuzzFeed’s adorable animal machine.

Friday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

Deal Me Out

Andrew Ross Sorkin’s intimate coverage of Wall Street.