Thursday, March 21

Avatar_57x57

Pitch Battles

Conspiracy theories, utopian fantasies, and cult involvement surrounding the international standard of musical tuning.

Monday, March 18

Avatar_57x57

He Who Makes the Rules

The bureaucratic hell of enforcing legislation in Washington.

Friday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

In Mississippi, the Mysterious Murder of a Gay, Black Politician

It’s tempting to think Marco McMillian was killed because of his race, his sexuality, or because he was running for mayor. The truth is more elusive.

Thursday, March 14

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

Ted Kennedy Jr. Is (Finally) Ready for the Family Business

A profile of a 51-year-old preparing himself for the inevitable.

Wednesday, March 6

Avatar_57x57

Politics and the English Language

“Modern writing at its worst does not consist in picking out words for the sake of their meaning and inventing images in order to make the meaning clearer. It consists in gumming together long strips of words which have already been set in order by someone else, and making the results presentable by sheer humbug.”

Tuesday, March 5

Avatar_57x57

Fidel’s Heir

A profile of Hugo Chávez.

Monday, March 4

Avatar_57x57

Back on the Trail

A profile of former South Carolina governor Mark Sanford, who is running for office four years after his affair with an Argentine journalist became national news.

Saturday, March 2

Avatar_57x57

The Rubber Room

The battle over what to do with New York City’s worst teachers.

Thursday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

The Trials of Nadia Naffe

Naffe, a young Republican, entered the belly of the political beast – and was nearly eaten.

Tuesday, February 19

Avatar_57x57

Arianna’s Virtual Candidate

A profile of Michael Huffington.

Monday, February 18

Avatar_57x57

L’Étranger

France, wealth and the saga of tax exile Gérard Depardieu.