Wednesday, November 6


The Nazi Anatomists

How the corpses of Hitler’s victims still haunt modern science—and American abortion politics.

Tuesday, November 5


Keep Smiling

Do dolphins and humans really share a special bond?

Monday, November 4


The Plants Respond

An interview with Cleve Backster, a former interrogation specialist with the CIA who used a polygraph machine in the 1960s to develop his theory of “primary perception,” which contends that plants have feelings.

Thursday, October 31


'I'm Showing My Son Mercy'

Ending a pregnancy in the most “pro-life” state in America.

Wednesday, October 30


The Man Who Would Teach Machines to Think

A profile of cognitive scientist Douglas Hofstadter, who has spent the last 30 years trying to replicate the human mind.


Ring of Fire

Each soldier in Iraq and Afghanistan generated around 10 pounds of garbage per day. Most of that trash—along with used equipment and medical supplies and other wastes of war—was burned in open-air pits, emitting a toxic smoke that many soliders blame for their poor health today.

Tuesday, October 29


The Strange and Mysterious History of the Ouija Board

What the popular game says about our subconscious.

Monday, October 28


Safecracking the Brain

What neuroscience is learning from code-breakers and thieves.

Saturday, October 26


A Tale of Two Drugs

New medicines can cost hundreds of thousands of dolllars a year. Are they worth it? A look at how a pair of pharmaceutical compainies set their prices.

Friday, October 25


Thursday, October 24


Gambling with Civilization

The economics of climate change and the end of humanity.

Tuesday, October 22


Has David Birnbaum Solved The Mystery of Existence?

A jeweler from Queens tries to crack the code.