Monday, August 19

Avatar_57x57

Last Song for Migrating Birds

On the slaughter of songbirds migrating across the Mediterranean.

Friday, August 16

Avatar_57x57

Bit

“Joe’s hand began to tingle, and he called the group together. The toxins would leave his system in 48 hours, he said. He’d be conscious the whole time.”

Friday, August 9

Avatar_57x57

The Weather God of Oklahoma City

“You know a storm is going to be bad, people in Oklahoma will tell you, when Gary England removes his jacket.” A profile of a meteorologist who has worked Tornado Alley for more than 40 years.

Sunday, August 4

Avatar_57x57

Why We Keep Playing the Lottery

“It’s just beyond our experience—we have nothing in our evolutionary history that prepares us or primes us, no intellectual architecture, to try and grasp the remoteness of those odds.”

Thursday, August 1

Avatar_57x57

To Live, the Oyster Must Die

The fight to save a “delicious gold mine.”

Wednesday, July 31

Avatar_57x57

Detachment

On the scientific research of Romanian orphans.

Saturday, July 27

Avatar_57x57

Something More Wrong

Inside the women’s ward at Creedmoor Psychiatric Center.

Friday, July 26

Avatar_57x57

Has Carl June Found a Key to Fighting Cancer?

The long road to a potential breakthrough.

Monday, July 22

Avatar_57x57

Slow Ideas

Why some innovations spread quick while others take decades to catch hold.

Sunday, July 21

Avatar_57x57

CSI: Italian Renaissance

On paleopathologist Gino Fornaciari and his investigations into murders from centuries past.

Friday, July 19

Avatar_57x57

Plagued: TB and Me

Reporting on drug-resistant tuberculosis across Papua New Guinea – and then contracting the disease.

Thursday, July 18

Avatar_57x57

A Life-or-Death Situation

How a bioethicist’s field of study—suicide, euthanasia, a dignified death—”turned unbearably personal.”