Wednesday, November 28

Avatar_57x57

Can a Jellyfish Unlock the Secret of Immortality?

A species of jellyfish that can transform itself back to a polyp at any time appears to debunk the most fundamental law of the natural world — you are born, and then you die.

Tuesday, November 27

Avatar_57x57

Miles from Nowhere

In 1968, the author revisits remote British Columbia, which he traveled two years earlier.

Monday, November 26

Avatar_57x57

The Thing With Feathers

The Ivory-Billed Woodpecker was extinct. Then it wasn’t. The story of an uncertain resurrection.

Avatar_57x57

The Thing With Feathers

The Ivory-Billed Woodpecker was extinct. Then it wasn’t. The story of an uncertain resurrection.

Saturday, November 24

Avatar_57x57

Time, and the Great Healer

In 1943, a young research scientist found a cure for TB. It should have been the proudest moment of Albert Schatz’s life, but ever since he has watched, helpless, as his mentor got all the credit.

Friday, November 23

Avatar_57x57

Re-Awakenings

How a woman who couldn’t stop sleeping woke up.

Thursday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

The Lying Disease

On an affliction for the digital age, “Munchausen by internet.”

Thursday, November 15

Avatar_57x57

The Hazards of Growing Up Painlessly

Ashlyn Blocker, 13, has a “congenital insensitivity to pain.”

Tuesday, November 13

Avatar_57x57

Murdering the Impossible

A profile of Reinhold Messner, the greatest mountain climber of all time.

Wednesday, October 31

Avatar_57x57

Wild Things

Animal nature, human racism, and the future of zoos.

Sunday, October 28

Avatar_57x57

State of the Species

The future of homo sapiens.

Friday, October 26

Avatar_57x57

The Kindness of Beasts

On the moral behavior of animals.