Friday, January 31

Avatar_57x57

How a once-lauded psychiatrist became a prolific prescriber of painkillers in one of Virginia’s poorest and most isolated counties.

Wednesday, January 29

Avatar_57x57

Monday, January 27

Avatar_57x57

How a substandard abortion provider stays in business.

Saturday, January 25

Avatar_57x57

After being extinct for 70 million years, the coelacanth came back to life.

Friday, January 24

Avatar_57x57

The rise of an expensive, experimental stem-cell treatment in China and the medical tourism it attracts.

Monday, January 20

Avatar_57x57

How the ski town of the super-rich is responding to global warming.

Avatar_57x57

A physician reports on his own catastrophic injury.

Saturday, January 18

Avatar_57x57

The author on her reverence for water.

Friday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

One man’s quest to have a healthy leg amputated.

Monday, January 13

Avatar_57x57

It comes from the soil of the desert Southwest. Inhaled, it can cause incurable, even fatal illness. And, thanks to global warming, valley fever is spreading fast.

Saturday, January 11

Avatar_57x57

How a self-taught doctor from Delhi cornered the black market in kidneys, building one of the world’s most lucrative organ-trading rings, until it all came crashing down.

Friday, January 10

Avatar_57x57

For centuries, a little town in Belgium has been treating the mentally ill. Why are its medieval methods so successful?