The New Longform App for iPhone and iPad

Download on the App Store

Saturday, August 24

Avatar_57x57

Sleeping Together

A visit to Tokyo’s first co-sleeping cafe, where one can pay a set fee to sleep next to a woman in 20 minute increments, though spooning, being patted on the head, and a change of pajamas are extra.

Thursday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

Lesbian Nation

On the lesbian separatists of the 1970s, who “created a shadow society devoted to living in an alternate, penisless reality.”

Sunday, July 28

Avatar_57x57

Wildcatting: A Stripper's Guide to the Modern American Boomtown

Cycles of boom and bust in the drilling town of Williston, N.D., as seen from the perspective of an itinerant dancer filling one of three slots at the only strip club in town, Whispers.

Wednesday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

How Legalizing Prostitution Has Failed

When Germany legalized prostitution just over a decade ago, politicians hoped that it would create better conditions and more autonomy for sex workers. It hasn’t worked out that way.

Friday, July 19

Avatar_57x57

Who Was Stella Walsh?

The murder of an Olympic champion and the autopsy that shook a city.

Wednesday, June 26

Avatar_57x57

Mothers, Sisters, Daughters, Wives

Inside the political battle over reproductive rights in Texas.

Friday, June 21

Avatar_57x57

A Girl, Her Pimp, and Her Parents

A family turns to murder to save one of their own.

Avatar_57x57

How Long Can You Wait to Have a Baby?

Most of what you know about women’s fertility rates is wrong.

Tuesday, June 11

Wednesday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

East Side Story

A murder case involving two young, privileged New Yorkers rivets the city.

Monday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

What Do You Desire?

The writer, entering her thirties single and adrift, heads to San Francisco to spend time with Kink.com’s Princess Donna Dolore and attend a gangbang “where all the men were dressed as panda bears.”

Saturday, May 4

Avatar_57x57

Green Screen: The Lack of Female Road Narratives and Why it Matters

“When a man steps onto the road, his journey begins. When a woman steps onto that same road, hers ends.”