Thursday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

The author visits Camp Trans, an annual protest organized after the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival evicted a transsexual woman.

Monday, January 7

Avatar_57x57

In a matter of months she became one of the world’s most famous porn stars. Three years later, she was dead. The rise and fall of Savannah.

Thursday, January 3

Avatar_57x57

With abortion access limited in many states, should some home abortions still be a crime?

Friday, November 30

Avatar_57x57

A community says its children are being targeted by a group of pedophiles. But did widespread sexual abuse actually take place?

Wednesday, November 28

Avatar_57x57

He was a nobody who became a porn star, a porn star who became a destitute freebaser, an addict who set up his dealer to be robbed, and finally witness to a retaliatory massacre at the house they called Wonderland.

Friday, November 2

Avatar_57x57

The rise of One Direction fanfiction that imagines the band members in relationships – with each other.

Avatar_57x57

An essay on Jimmy Savile, British television and child sexual abuse.

Friday, October 19

Avatar_57x57

Life inside Long Island’s largest cluster of sex offenders.

Monday, October 15

Avatar_57x57

On Queens’ stubbornly unchanging Roosevelt Avenue, where immigrants pay $2 a song to grind against hired dancers and shuttered houses of prostitution have given way to rolling brothel-vans.

Friday, October 5

Avatar_57x57

How Tony Galeota went from mobbed-up teen on Long Island to legendary strip club manager in Miami to distraught prisoner in a Panamanian jail.

Tuesday, October 2

Avatar_57x57

A torrid phone sex affair begins with a random call in a motel and ends a year later with a face-to-face meeting.

Monday, September 24

Avatar_57x57

The rise of drug-resistant gonorrhea.