Friday, November 2

Avatar_57x57

An essay on Jimmy Savile, British television and child sexual abuse.

Friday, October 19

Avatar_57x57

Life inside Long Island’s largest cluster of sex offenders.

Monday, October 15

Avatar_57x57

On Queens’ stubbornly unchanging Roosevelt Avenue, where immigrants pay $2 a song to grind against hired dancers and shuttered houses of prostitution have given way to rolling brothel-vans.

Friday, October 5

Avatar_57x57

How Tony Galeota went from mobbed-up teen on Long Island to legendary strip club manager in Miami to distraught prisoner in a Panamanian jail.

Tuesday, October 2

Avatar_57x57

A torrid phone sex affair begins with a random call in a motel and ends a year later with a face-to-face meeting.

Monday, September 24

Avatar_57x57

The rise of drug-resistant gonorrhea.

Thursday, September 20

Avatar_57x57

“If you think cam girls—those flirty naked characters that plague porn site pop-up ads—are raking in easy money, you’re right. If you think cam girls are bleakly stripping online out of desperation, you’re also right.”

Saturday, September 1

Avatar_57x57

Memories of a college courtship.

Thursday, August 23

Avatar_57x57

Sex and status disclosure in the age of Grindr and undetectable HIV-levels.

Friday, August 3

Avatar_57x57

How Cosmo, with 64 international editions and a readership that would make it the world’s 16th largest country, conquered the globe.

Monday, July 30

Avatar_57x57

A survey of sex on a Saturday night in New York City.

Wednesday, July 11

Avatar_57x57

The author interviews her mother about life as a secretary at Playboy in 1960s New York City.