Sunday, July 28

Avatar_57x57

Wildcatting: A Stripper's Guide to the Modern American Boomtown

Cycles of boom and bust in the drilling town of Williston, N.D., as seen from the perspective of an itinerant dancer filling one of three slots at the only strip club in town, Whispers.

Wednesday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

How Legalizing Prostitution Has Failed

When Germany legalized prostitution just over a decade ago, politicians hoped that it would create better conditions and more autonomy for sex workers. It hasn’t worked out that way.

Friday, July 19

Avatar_57x57

Who Was Stella Walsh?

The murder of an Olympic champion and the autopsy that shook a city.

Friday, June 21

Avatar_57x57

A Girl, Her Pimp, and Her Parents

A family turns to murder to save one of their own.

Avatar_57x57

How Long Can You Wait to Have a Baby?

Most of what you know about women’s fertility rates is wrong.

Tuesday, June 11

Wednesday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

East Side Story

A murder case involving two young, privileged New Yorkers rivets the city.

Monday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

What Do You Desire?

The writer, entering her thirties single and adrift, heads to San Francisco to spend time with Kink.com’s Princess Donna Dolore and attend a gangbang “where all the men were dressed as panda bears.”

Saturday, May 4

Avatar_57x57

Green Screen: The Lack of Female Road Narratives and Why it Matters

“When a man steps onto the road, his journey begins. When a woman steps onto that same road, hers ends.”

Thursday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

Trasmissions from Camp Trans

The author visits Camp Trans, an annual protest organized after the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival evicted a transsexual woman.

Monday, January 7

Avatar_57x57

Little Girl Lost

In a matter of months she became one of the world’s most famous porn stars. Three years later, she was dead. The rise and fall of Savannah.

Thursday, January 3

Avatar_57x57

The Rise of DIY Abortions

With abortion access limited in many states, should some home abortions still be a crime?