Friday, June 21

Avatar_57x57

How Long Can You Wait to Have a Baby?

Most of what you know about women’s fertility rates is wrong.

Sunday, June 16

Avatar_57x57

The Erotic Antagonism of Gengoroh Tagame

On Japanese writer Gengoroh Tagame, who creates gay manga work “in the artistic tradition of Pasolini, de Sade, Yukio Mishima and Lolita.”

Tuesday, June 11

Wednesday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

East Side Story

A murder case involving two young, privileged New Yorkers rivets the city.

Monday, May 20

Avatar_57x57

Tantric Sex for Dilettantes

A crash course in Tantra and superficial spirituality.

Monday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

What Do You Desire?

The writer, entering her thirties single and adrift, heads to San Francisco to spend time with Kink.com’s Princess Donna Dolore and attend a gangbang “where all the men were dressed as panda bears.”

Saturday, May 4

Avatar_57x57

Green Screen: The Lack of Female Road Narratives and Why it Matters

“When a man steps onto the road, his journey begins. When a woman steps onto that same road, hers ends.”

Thursday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

Trasmissions from Camp Trans

The author visits Camp Trans, an annual protest organized after the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival evicted a transsexual woman.

Sunday, March 3

Avatar_57x57

That’s Not A Droid, That’s My Girlfriend

On the development of companion robots in Japan.

Tuesday, February 19

Avatar_57x57

The Cold Arab Spring

Chasing the embers of hedonism in Morocco and Tunisia, as Salafi mobs and new regimes wash over the brothels, beaches, and nightclubs of what used to be the Arab world’s most liberal cities.

Sunday, February 17

Avatar_57x57

Deep Inside: A Study of 10,000 Porn Stars and Their Careers

Applying big data analysis to Internet Adult Film Database, the IMDB of porn.

Thursday, January 3

Avatar_57x57

The Rise of DIY Abortions

With abortion access limited in many states, should some home abortions still be a crime?