Sunday, August 25

Avatar_57x57

The Match Maker

On September 20, 1973, 50 million Americans watched Bobby Riggs lose to Billie Jean King in a tennis match dubbed “The Battle of the Sexes.” This spring, a man named Hal Shaw came forward with a secret he’d held for 40 years: Riggs, in debt to the mafia, had lost on purpose.

Friday, August 23

Avatar_57x57

D'Andre Brown's Basketball Dream

On not making the NBA.

Thursday, August 22

Avatar_57x57

The Last Days of Stealhead Joe

On the troubled, legendary Deschutes River fly-fishing guide.

Tuesday, August 20

Avatar_57x57

The Cruelest Sport

“Professional boxing is the only major American sport whose primary, and often murderous, energies are not coyly deflected by such artifacts as balls and pucks.”

Avatar_57x57

Medora Goes To The Game

A father and his 9-year-old daughter watch Harvard play Yale in football.

Sunday, August 18

Avatar_57x57

Inside the Double Life of Aaron Hernandez

The house at 114 Lake Avenue in Bristol, CT that kept calling Aaron Hernandez, a NFL star by 20, back to “a volatile underworld of guns, drugs, and violence.”

Thursday, August 15

Avatar_57x57

Shadow of a Nation

Basketball on a Crow reservation and a player named Jonathan Takes Enemy trying to escape.

Wednesday, August 14

Avatar_57x57

The Jockey

A profile of Russell Baze, the winningest jockey in American history.

Tuesday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

The Long Con: How The Manziels Conquered America

The family history behind college football’s most talked-about player.

Monday, August 12

Avatar_57x57

Sunday, August 11

Avatar_57x57

Bloodlines

How the heir to a horse racing empire became an informant on the Zetas cartel as they pushed their money laundering operations into the lucrative quarter horse trade.

Thursday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

Death of A Ballplayer

Billy Dillon was about to sign a contract with the Detroit Tigers. Instead he was convicted–wrongly–of first-degree murder and spent the next 27 years in prison.