Saturday, February 8

Avatar_57x57

The Sochi Project

Since 2007, when they first heard that “the Florida of Russia” was being awarded the Winter Olympics, two Dutch journalists have been documenting everyday life in Sochi and how it has changed in the run-up to the Games.

Avatar_57x57

The Big Book of Black Quarterbacks

The stories of the 109 black men who have played quarterback in the NFL, from Fritz Pollard to Russell Wilson.

Thursday, February 6

Avatar_57x57

The Fight to Live

The angry last days of Ty Cobb.

Tuesday, January 28

Avatar_57x57

In the Beginning, There Was a Nipple

How Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction, all nine-sixteenths of a second of it, changed TV, the internet, and American culture.

Sunday, January 26

Avatar_57x57

A Sense of Who You Are

How fight coach Greg Jackson, once dubbed “the Philosopher King of MMA,” does his job.

Thursday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

The Sordid End of David Meggett

Meggett was an All-Pro running back for the New York Giants. He was also a serial rapist.

Friday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

The Writer and the Puzzle: Richard Ben Cramer Couldn't Crack A-Rod

On the legendary journalist and the book he never finished.

Thursday, January 16

Avatar_57x57

Runner, Interrupted

What happens when a runner loses his feet?

Wednesday, January 15

Avatar_57x57

Dr. V's Magical Putter

The very complicated life of Dr. Essay Anne Vanderbilt, who once built a very good golf club.

Update: Grantland has published a pair of responses to the reaction to this story, "What Grantland Got Wrong" by Christina Kahrl and "The Dr. V Story: A Letter From the Editor" by Bill Simmons.

Tuesday, January 14

Avatar_57x57

Sabre Rattler

How a rogue p.r. man pulled a fast one on professional hockey.

Friday, January 10

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, January 9

Avatar_57x57

The Steroid Hunt

What baseball writers did during the steroid era.