A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store

Sunday, June 1

Avatar_57x57

The Birdman’s Vengeful Ghost

The catfishing of Chris Andersen.

Wednesday, May 28

Avatar_57x57

Crime and Punishment

The story of a high school basketball star’s sexual abuse conviction and its aftermath, told from all sides.

Tuesday, May 27

Avatar_57x57

In Kenya, Running With Chinese Characteristics

The Chinese team heads to the home of elite running.

Friday, May 23

Avatar_57x57

The Dream-Time of the World Cup

“Someone has sliced open soccer’s hourglass, and the sand has come pouring out on to the streets.”

Saturday, May 17

Avatar_57x57

Nothing Can Stay Buried

A profile of Bosnian striker Vedad Ibisevic, who has come home after escaping the war more than 20 years ago.

Thursday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

Bullfighting, Sport and Industry

“Formal bullfighting is an art, a tragedy, and a business. To what extent it is an art depends on the bulls and the men who are hired to kill them, but it is always a tragedy and it is always a business.”

Tuesday, May 13

Avatar_57x57

The Undefeated Champions of Defeat City

A Little League season in Camden, New Jersey, where the murder rate is 17 times the national average.

Monday, May 12

Avatar_57x57

'The Fight's Over, Joe'

Joe Frazier vs. Muhammad Ali, 20 years after their final fight.

Saturday, May 10

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, May 8

Avatar_57x57

All the Kings' Men

An oral history of the 2002 Western Conference finals between the Los Angeles Lakers and Sacramento Kings.

Previously: Jonathan Abrams on the Longform Podcast.

Thursday, May 1

Avatar_57x57

The Short Flight Of El Pájaro

On May 16, 1913, after he’d spent years earning a chance at American stardom, Canary Islander shortstop Alfredo Cabrera played his one and only Major League Baseball game.

Tuesday, April 29

Avatar_57x57