Saturday, June 28

Avatar_57x57

The Toughest Footrace in the World

100 miles, 24 hours.

Friday, June 27

Avatar_57x57

Astro-Matic Baseball

Inside a struggling franchise’s radical rebuilding project.

Thursday, June 26

Avatar_57x57

Why We Play

The allure of dangerous sports.

Tuesday, June 24

Avatar_57x57

Portrait of a Serial Winner

A profile of Luis Suarez.

Saturday, June 21

Avatar_57x57

The Faded Smile

Eddie Griffin made it to the NBA. Then his life began to unravel.

Previously: Jonathan Abrams on the Longform Podcast.

Tuesday, June 17

Avatar_57x57

Heroes for Sale

A final visit with late boxer Teófilo Stevenson, who could have fought or even been Muhammad Ali had he not stayed in Cuba.

Thursday, June 12

Avatar_57x57

Tuesday, June 10

Avatar_57x57

Soccer, Made in America

How coach Jurgen Klinsmann, “soccer’s Alexis de Tocqueville,” is trying to give the US an identity.

Monday, June 9

Avatar_57x57

Mr. Ten Percent

A profile of Chuck Blazer, “the man who built — and bilked — American soccer.”

Friday, June 6

Avatar_57x57

Why Isn’t Delonte West in the NBA?

How a bipolar diagnosis follows you from the top to the bottom of professional basketball.

Sunday, June 1

Avatar_57x57

The Birdman’s Vengeful Ghost

The catfishing of Chris Andersen.

Wednesday, May 28

Avatar_57x57

Crime and Punishment

The story of a high school basketball star’s sexual abuse conviction and its aftermath, told from all sides.