Wednesday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

Drugstore Cowboy

The con man who cost Google $500 million.

Tuesday, May 14

Avatar_57x57

Welcome to the Programmable World

In the not-so-distant future, all of our objects will talk to each other. They’ll make our coffee, find our keys, save our lives. The roadmap to a fully networked existence.

Monday, May 13

Avatar_57x57

Laptop U

The possibilities and pitfalls of massive open online courses (MOOCs).

Saturday, April 27

Avatar_57x57

A History of Like

Marketing research,the pre-Facebook history of ‘likeability,’ and why there will never be a ‘dislike’ button.

Tuesday, April 16

Avatar_57x57

Web Dreams

The story of suck.com.

Friday, April 12

Avatar_57x57

Refugees of the Modern World

Life in Green Bank, West Virginia, a town without cell signals and a haven people with electromagnetic hypersensitivity (a disease that may or may not exist).

Monday, April 8

Avatar_57x57

Hollywood Archaeology: The Super Mario Bros. Movie

Two decades later, unpacking a historic bust.

Sunday, April 7

Avatar_57x57

The Locust Economy

Groupon disasters, the behaviors of the consumer swarm, and how the "1% and the 90% [are] collaborating to prey on the 9% in the middle."

Saturday, April 6

Avatar_57x57

The Creator

On Swedish game designer Markus Persson and his singular creation, Minecraft, which has sold over twenty million copies and earned Persson over a hundred million dollars last year.

Wednesday, April 3

Avatar_57x57

The Bitcoin Bubble and the Future of Currency

A cultural history of Bitcoin and what happened when the nascent virtual currency began to be covered by the mainstream media.

Tuesday, March 26

Avatar_57x57

Life, Death, and Free Culture in the Mission

On Ilya Zhitomirskiy, an idealistic young developer who committed suicide 18 months after founding Diaspora, his well-publicized, open-source alternative to Facebook.

Saturday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Greed Is Groupon

The daily deals company turned down a $6 billion offer from Google and went public. Now its stock is down 80% and its founder/CEO has been fired. On Groupon’s failed strategy and tenuous future.