Friday, October 16

Avatar_57x57

“Hello Father, The Boat is Sinking, So I Will Die.”

The disappearance of the Ghost Boat and its 243 passengers off the Libyan coast.

Saturday, October 10

Avatar_57x57

Boys in Zinc

Testimonies about the Soviet war in Afghanistan, reported by the 2015 recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Saturday, October 3

Avatar_57x57

Out of Sight

A former prostitute turned arctivist and her taxi-driver husband go undercover in Iraq’s brothels.

Avatar_57x57

"They Were Torturing to Kill"

The photographs that Caesar, a Syrian military photographer, smuggled out of Assad’s death dungeons.

Friday, September 25

Avatar_57x57

The Good Soldier

Struggling with depression and thoughts of suicide, Army officer Lawrence Franks went AWOL. Five years later, he reappeared as Christopher Flaherty, a member of the French Foreign Legion who served three tours in Africa. Then he was court-martialed.

Sunday, September 20

Avatar_57x57

In Unit Stalked by Suicide, Veterans Try to Save One Another

One Marine battalion has had four members kill themselves in just the last year. The soldiers have jury-rigged a system of Facebook notifications and Google spreadsheets to try to stop it.

Friday, September 18

Avatar_57x57

The Road to Damascus

While a Marine stationed in Afghanistan, Austin Tice decided he wanted to become a war photographer. He entered Syria and filed stories for McClatchy and the Washington Post. Then he disappeared.

Friday, September 11

Avatar_57x57

One Lawyer’s Crusade to Defend Extreme Pornography

Meet Britain’s “Batman of obscenity.”

Tuesday, August 25

Avatar_57x57

Daniel Wolfe Is Killing Himself Live on Facebook

The search for an Iraq veteran on the brink of suicide.

Saturday, August 15

Avatar_57x57

Mothers of ISIS

The stories of four women whose children joined the Islamic State.

Thursday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

ISIS Enshrines a Theology of Rape

The system of organized sexual slavery at the heart of ISIS.

Rukmini Callimachi on the Longform Podcast

Tuesday, August 11

Avatar_57x57

Twilight of the Bomb

A physicist remembers working on the Manhattan Project.