Thursday, December 11

Avatar_57x57

Isis: The Inside Story

An Islamic State senior commander reveals the terror group’s origins.

Wednesday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

Why No One Remembers the Peacemakers

Why do we honor dead soldiers rather than the fighters who deserted and the activists who demanded peace?

Saturday, December 6

Avatar_57x57

In and Out of Time in Iraq

An essay on PTSD.

Wednesday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Iraq: The New War

A 2003 essay that foreshadows the emergence of the Islamic State a decade later – an insurgency incited by American policy in Iraq during the early days of the war.

Saturday, November 29

Avatar_57x57

The Jihad Cult: Why Young Germans Are Answering Call to Holy War

More than 500 Germans, including a former rapper named Deso Dogg, have joined ISIS in Syria.

Saturday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

Losing the War

An essay, originally published over two issues, on how and why we forget war.

Wednesday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

The 'Caliphate's' Colonies: Islamic State's Gradual Expansion into North Africa

“The Jihad route leads from Tunisia via Tripoli into Turkey and on to Syria. Thousands have followed the path into Syria, and only a few have returned.”

Tuesday, November 18

Avatar_57x57

Firestone and the Warlord

How a major American company helped bring Charles Taylor to power in Liberia.

Monday, November 17

Avatar_57x57

Hell Is Other People

A report from the Central African Republic, where "acts of extraordinary cruelty have become commonplace."

Wednesday, October 29

Avatar_57x57

My Captivity

An American journalist on being kidnapped, tortured and released in Syria.

Wednesday, October 15

Avatar_57x57

The Secret Casualties of Iraq’s Abandoned Chemical Weapons

When American and Iraqi soldiers were exposed to leftover chemical munitions from Saddam Hussein’s war against Iran, the Pentagon kept silent.

Tuesday, October 14

Avatar_57x57

My Terrifying Night With Afghanistan's Only Female Warlord

Inside the stronghold of Commander Pigeon, “collector of lost and exiled men.”