Tuesday, March 10


The Grantland Q&A: Errol Morris

“Some of the best lines — and I’ve been lucky to hear really nutso lines over the years — are not in response to any kind of question. It’s in response to, ‘I don’t know.’”

Sunday, March 8


Queen Sabrina, Flawless Mother

A drag pageant pioneer dropped out of the public eye after the 1960s. What happened to her?

Saturday, March 7


Let Us Now Appraise Famous Writers

A correspondence school for writers turns out to be a sham. This piece forced it into bankruptcy.

Wednesday, March 4


Conrad Hilton and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Flight

An eyewitness tells us what it was like to be there.

Tuesday, March 3


The 'Deaf' Composer Who Fooled a Nation

Mamoru Samuragochi’s story turned out to be too good to be true.

Sunday, March 1


The Next Next Level

An ode to Juiceboxxx, a 27-year-old rapper from Milwaukee no one’s ever heard of.

Saturday, February 28


Burn After Reading

The author of The Anarchist Cookbook wishes he could take it all back.


Plain Girl’s Revenge Made Flesh

“When constant revisionism and re-invention is under way, what does it profit a biographer to drag the weary ‘facts’ before us?”

Tuesday, February 24


Hoax: Secrets That Truman Capote Took to the Grave

Uncovering the real story behind Capote’s Hand-Carved Coffins.

Monday, February 23


Remembering Orson Welles

The great director always refused to get liposuction.

Saturday, February 21


Will We Ever See Studio 54 Again?

The selfie may have ended any hope of resurrecting New York’s nightlife.


Australia’s Temple of Weird

An art museum in Tasmania is saving the local economy. It also offers an “eternity membership” which, for $75,000, will see your ashes displayed there once you’ve gone.