Friday, August 9

Avatar_57x57

Nothing Like Being Scared

The life, work, and early death of writer Shirley Jackson.

Avatar_57x57

Scandals of Classic Hollywood: The Ecstasy of Hedy Lamarr

“Let me say that again: Hedy Lamarr, arguably the most glamorous star of the pre-war period, also helped invent your cell phone and WiFi connection.”

Thursday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

'You're Done Banging Superheroes, Baby'

Meet Mark Millar, the brains behind our era’s most violent, ingenious comics.

Tuesday, August 6

Avatar_57x57
Avatar_57x57

Nuke the Cat!

Script doctor Damon Lindelof explains the new rules of blockbuster screenwriting.

Monday, August 5

Avatar_57x57

Kubrick

A profile of Stanley Kubrick written by a longtime friend and published a few months after the director’s death.

Thursday, August 1

Avatar_57x57

Fire in the Hole!

Machine guns, cannons and drones in the Arizona desert.

Wednesday, July 31

Avatar_57x57

Tuesday, July 30

Avatar_57x57

Harlan Ellison Isn’t Dead Yet

The cult author, 57 years into his writing career.

Saturday, July 27

Avatar_57x57

Upon This Rock

A visit to the Christian rock Cross-Over Festival in Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri.

Thursday, July 25

Avatar_57x57

The Cult of Amazon

The “blood sport” of classical music reviews.

Wednesday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

2001: A Space Odyssey — Discerning Themes Through Score and Imagery

A 22,000-word breakdown of Kubrick’s “odyssey portraying the span of millennia.”