Saturday, July 4

Avatar_57x57

The Chameleon

Frédéric Bourdin was an imposter. His "trail of cons," for which he used five languages and dozens of identities, extended for years across Europe and America.

Friday, July 3

Avatar_57x57

A Long Walk's End

A fugitive spends six years on the Appalachian trail.

Thursday, July 2

Avatar_57x57

Hollywood Heiress's Marriage Turns to Dark Tale of Theft, Murder Plots

She was the daughter of movie mogul Harry Warner. He was 15 years younger and embezzled her money, landing himself in jail. In prison, he offered a young inmate named Richard Matt $100,000 to kill her.

Tuesday, June 30

Avatar_57x57

This is Rikers

Voices from the inside of New York City’s infamous jail.

Monday, June 29

Avatar_57x57

Revenge Killing

The death of an infant lands his father on death row in Louisiana.

Avatar_57x57

The Surprisingly Imperfect Science of DNA Testing

Juries trust DNA. But should they?

Sunday, June 28

Avatar_57x57

“They Saw An Anointed One”

The life of Reverend Clementa Pinckney, killed in Charleston.

Saturday, June 27

Avatar_57x57

ISIS and the Lonely Young American

An isolated 23-year-old Sunday school teacher living with her grandparents makes a new group of friends online who mail her chocolates and cash.

Friday, June 26

Avatar_57x57

Broken Boys, Thieves, Killers, and Now Escapees

The truncated, violent lives of Richard Matt and David Sweat before their prison escape.

Thursday, June 25

Avatar_57x57

Who Set Jessica Chambers on Fire? The Internet Is Trying to Find Out

A murder case in Mississippi catches the eye of amateur sleuths on Facebook, who proceed to harass everyone involved in the case.

Wednesday, June 24

Avatar_57x57

The Talented Mr. Khater

A 23-year-old living in Chile was suddenly attacked and buried alive by her roommate. She later learned she wasn’t his first – or last – victim.