Thursday, December 4

Avatar_57x57

Spectacle

On the 1934 lynching of Claude Neal, and the Florida town that kept the identity of those responsible a secret.

Tuesday, December 2

Avatar_57x57

The Weight of Guilt

Inside the world of bass fishing cheaters.

Saturday, November 29

Avatar_57x57

How Not to Get Away With Murder

Nancy and Frank Howard were happily married for three decades. Then he fell in love with another woman, embezzled $30 million, and hired a parade of inept hit men to kill his wife.

Wednesday, November 26

Avatar_57x57

West End Boy

On Norwegian mass murderer Anders Behring Breivik and the rise of Islamophobia in Norway.

Tuesday, November 25

Avatar_57x57

Why It’s Impossible to Indict a Cop

An argument for how the system protects police.

Sunday, November 23

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

Inside the Gay Wing of L.A. Men's Central Jail

Spending time with the residents of K6G, the only gay wing in the entire American penal system.

Monday, November 17

Avatar_57x57

Death by Deadline

How bad lawyering and an unforgiving law cost condemned men their last appeal.

Saturday, November 15

Avatar_57x57

The Con Artist Hired to Clean Ebola

During the financial crisis, Sal Pane ran a multimillion-dollar mortgage scam. A few years later, with the help of some high-profile media appearances and a dead man's resume, he won the government contract to clean up Ebola in New York.


Plus: Our complete archive of articles about con men.

Thursday, November 13

Avatar_57x57

No Twang of Conscience Whatever

“‘Have you ever killed anybody?’”

Wednesday, November 12

Avatar_57x57

Unprotected

An investigation into sexual abuse in youth sports, with a focus on USA Swimming.

Tuesday, November 11

Avatar_57x57

Double Jeopardy

A jury recommends life in prison; the judged orders a death sentence.