Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Mother's Day"

Mother's Day triggers a wealth of memories and characters, past and present.

Thursday, February 4

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Six Months Dry"

Sober living, loss, and unexpected connections.

Thursday, January 28

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, January 21

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "The Ballad of Black Tom"

An excerpt from LaValle's novel about a black man in a Lovecraftian universe.

Thursday, January 14

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, January 7

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Classic Bernd"

College friends come together during a power failure and the onset of an ill-fated relationship.

Thursday, December 31

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Secondhand"

Various time passages in an old home.

Thursday, December 17

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Fire Was Coming"

Religion, high school football, and racial problems in small town America.

Thursday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Anima"

A young woman's fears and observations, both past and present.

Thursday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Friday, November 27

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "Briar Switch"

A dangerous trek to visit a dying father.

Thursday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

Fiction Pick of the Week: "The Way You Look at Me"

Marriage, infidelity, distance, and communications.