Avatar_57x57

The First Year

A baby’s brain needs love to develop.

Tuesday, December 16

Avatar_57x57

Playing Chicken

Antibiotics made modern farming possible. But as “societal drugs,” their use by any individual affects us all.

Monday, December 15

Avatar_57x57

Climate Change Takes a Village

Citizens of Shishmaref, Alaska are watching their beaches disappear and their homes fall into the sea. Is it too late to relocate?

Monday, December 8

Avatar_57x57

Cold Comfort

The president of Kiribati goes to Norway to bear witness to climate change.

Saturday, December 6

Avatar_57x57

Why Doctors Fail

Opening up about medical mistakes.

Friday, December 5

Avatar_57x57

My Great-Great-Aunt Discovered Francium. And It Killed Her.

75 years ago, Marguerite Perey unearthed an element while working as a technician in Marie Curie’s lab. Her achievement came at a great cost.

Wednesday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

The Golden Quarter

Why the boom in scientific progress stalled.

Tuesday, December 2

Avatar_57x57

The Wanderers

Why do people with dementia become lost?

Monday, December 1

Avatar_57x57

Money ≠ Happiness. QED.

The old axiom that more is better is no longer true.

Sunday, November 16

Avatar_57x57

A Father's Scars

Virginia state senator Creigh Deeds, a year after his mentally ill son stabbed him multple times before committing suicide.

Monday, November 10

Avatar_57x57

All Dressed Up For Mars and Nowhere to Go

Mars One says it will send four people to colonize the planet by 2025. The company claims more than 200,000 have paid to apply for the privilege. But a deep look at Mars One’s plan and its finances reveals that not only is the goal a longshot, it might be a scam.

Tuesday, November 4

Avatar_57x57

Like Something the Lord Made

Vivien Thomas was paid a janitor’s wage, never went to college, and still became a legend in the field of heart surgery.