Avatar_57x57

Welcome to Beautiful Parkersburg, West Virginia

A town ruined by the chemical C8, an ingredient in the making of Teflon.

Avatar_57x57

Heart of Agave

A small organic agave farmer stands firm against the collision of Big Agriculture and tequila.

Thursday, August 27

Avatar_57x57

White Kermode

On the rare white bear that may save a British Columbia rainforest.

Monday, August 24

Avatar_57x57

The Pope and the Planet

The Pope’s vision for addressing climate change.

Wednesday, August 19

Avatar_57x57

Colony Collapse

The rise, and rise, of bee mortality in America.

Wednesday, August 12

Avatar_57x57

The Death of Patient Zero

Personalized medicine may one day deliver routine medical miracles. But it wasn’t ready in time for Stephanie Lee.

Saturday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

The Girl Who Killed Half a Million Flies

Beatrice White, the Toronto girl who won the city’s turn-of-the-century fly-swatting contest.

Wednesday, August 5

Avatar_57x57

How the Sausage Is Made

The search for the perfect hot dog – by way of haute cuisine.

Tuesday, August 4

Avatar_57x57

Young Blood

Exploring the possibility that injecting the old with the blood of the young can reverse the aging process.

Saturday, August 1

Avatar_57x57

The Arc of the Sun

A trip to the South African Million Dollar Pigeon Race.

David Samuels on the Longform Podcast

Friday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

A Week In The Mysterious Sleeping Villages Of Kazakhstan

What is the sickness that leads inhabitants to sleep for days?

Wednesday, July 22

Avatar_57x57

Out of Thin Air

Joe Namath believes hyperbaric oxygen treatment can reverse the brain damage he and others suffered playing football, so much so that a treatment center carries his name. The science, however, doesn’t support his claims.