A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store
Avatar_57x57

Why I Hope to Die at 75

Rejecting the “American immortal” mentality.

Wednesday, September 17

Avatar_57x57

Dark Side of the Moon

On the Cold War and the Space Race.

Tuesday, September 16

Avatar_57x57

China, the Climate and the Fate of the Planet

On the world’s biggest polluter.

Saturday, September 13

Avatar_57x57

Deadly Contact

When animals infect us.

Friday, September 12

Avatar_57x57

Hell in the Hot Zone

How the Ebola outbreak spread.

Thursday, September 11

Avatar_57x57

The Story That Tore Through the Trees

On Norman Maclean’s Young Men and Fire and its lingering effects on our collective imagination and environment.

Wednesday, September 10

Avatar_57x57

The Next Giant Leap

“You are reading this because you have no idea what NASA is doing. And NASA, tongue-tied by jargon, can’t figure out how to tell you. But the agency is engaged in work that can be more enduring and far-reaching than anything else this country is paying for.”

Avatar_57x57

Excarnation in Texas

Meet the people decomposing on a body farm.

Friday, September 5

Avatar_57x57

Power Steer

Raising a cow on an industrial feedlot.

Wednesday, September 3

Avatar_57x57

The Great Forgetting

On childhood amnesia, or why we don’t remember much before age seven.

Saturday, August 30

Avatar_57x57

The Boy with Half a Brain

To save William Buttars’s life, his parents had to risk it.

Thursday, August 28

Avatar_57x57

The Dawn of the Post-Clinic Abortion

Almost 40 percent of the world’s population lives in countries with limits on abortion. Activists like Rebecca Gompert imagine a future where those limits are meaningless because most abortions happen at home.