Thursday, December 31

Avatar_57x57

The Terrible Beauty of Brain Surgery

A visit to Albania to watch Henry Marsh perform his pioneering surgery where the patient is kept awake during the removal of a tumor and the “brain is stimulated with an electric probe, so that the surgeon can see if and how the patient reacts.”

Sunday, December 27

Avatar_57x57

Karen Silkwood — Dead Because She Knew Too Much?

She was a young plutonium worker whose Honda Civic Hatchback ran off the road and smashed into the wall of a concrete culvert. In her trunk were manila folders full of documents, which immediately went missing.

Thursday, December 24

Avatar_57x57

Safe Passage

Checking up on an ambitious, controversial conservation initiative, 20 years later.

Thursday, December 17

Avatar_57x57

Miami Underwater

South Florida and the danger of the rising sea.

Monday, December 14

Avatar_57x57

Consciousness Began When the Gods Stopped Speaking

On the unexpected longevity of a very strange theory.

Wednesday, December 9

Avatar_57x57

Encounter With the Infinite

In search of Ramanujan in India.

Tuesday, December 8

Avatar_57x57

This Australian Says He and His Dead Friend Invented Bitcoin

Uncovering the true identity of Satoshi Nakamoto, the pseudonymous creator of Bitcoin.

Avatar_57x57

Travis the Menace

The life story of Travis the chimp and the family of tow truck operators who raised him like a human child before it all ended in tragedy.

Tuesday, December 1

Avatar_57x57

Whale Fall

On the slow death of a beached humpback whale.

Wednesday, November 25

Avatar_57x57

User Behaviour

Websites and apps are designed for compulsion, even addiction. So why aren’t they regulated like drugs or casinos?

Saturday, November 21

Avatar_57x57

The Doomsday Invention

Will artificial intelligence bring utopia or destruction?

Thursday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

The Doomsday Scam

Bomb makers—including ISIS—have been on a quest to obtain red mercury, a weapon reputed to be powerful enough to “create the city-flattening blast of a nuclear bomb.” They haven’t found it yet. That might be because it doesn’t exist.