Wednesday, March 25

Avatar_57x57

Life Lines

Lonnie Sue Johnson is an artist who can’t retain a memory for longer than a minute or two.

Friday, March 20

Avatar_57x57

The Brain’s Empathy Gap

Can the insights of neuroscience help us get over our prejudices?

Thursday, March 19

Avatar_57x57

The Science of Near-Death Experiences

Researchers do look into near-death experiences, seeking a verified case of what they call “apparently non-physical veridical perception.”

Wednesday, March 18

Avatar_57x57

Rogue Wounds

A brief history of pretending to be sick.

Tuesday, March 17

Avatar_57x57

Luminous Life

In the deep ocean, a swimming sea-worm called a “green bomber” can throw sacs of light when attacked.

Monday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Why Do Severed Goat Heads Keep Turning Up in Brooklyn?

Santería or Vodou are explored as possibilities.

Sunday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

Jane Goodall Is Still Wild At Heart

She’s 80 now, working 13 hour days, and still won’t take so much as a reporter’s hand to cross the stream.

Friday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

Slip Sliding Away

Locals on the Outer Banks are arguing about whether climate change is real. Meanwhile, their islands are disappearing.

Wednesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

Why Would Anyone Want To Shoot a Sea Otter?

Perhaps because your people have always hunted them. But also because there’s demand in New York fashion circles for their pelts.

Friday, March 6

Avatar_57x57

Birdman

A man’s love of pigeons leads him to build a Ponzi scheme out of birds.

Thursday, March 5

Avatar_57x57

The Exhibitionist

The controversial owner of the Dallas World Aquarium once nearly caused a riot over pygmy sloths.

Saturday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

The Word-Hoard

The British and Irish have coined some fabulous terms to describe nature and landscrape. “Doofers” is the Scots’ term for horse-shit; “clinkerbell” means icicle in Hampshire.