Thursday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

Brain Games

The world’s leading scientists try to solve climate change.

Monday, July 21

Avatar_57x57

Survivor No. 3

A day after swimming in an Arkansas water park, Kali Harding was diagnosed with a brain-eating amoeba that kills 99% of the people infects. This is the story of how she survived.

Previously: The Longform Guide to the Brain.

Friday, July 18

Avatar_57x57

One of a Kind

When a child has a condition that’s new to science.

Thursday, July 17

Avatar_57x57

Camp Lejeune and the U.S. Military's Polluted Legacy

How the Pentagon makes “Koch Industries look like an organic farm” when it comes to toxic water contamination.

Tuesday, July 15

Avatar_57x57

Why Do We Have Blood Types?

More than 100 years after they were discovered, we’re still looking for an answer as to why blood types exist.

Avatar_57x57

Sex Without Fear

The debate surrounding Truvada, the first drug approved by the FDA to prevent HIV.

Thursday, July 10

Avatar_57x57

Rise of the Sea Urchin

From Norwegian waters to European plates.

Tuesday, July 8

Avatar_57x57

The Organ Detective

A profile of anthropologist Nancy Scheper-Hughes, who has spent her career uncovering a hidden global market in human flesh.

Monday, July 7

Avatar_57x57

Nature’s Most Perfect Killing Machine

How the Ebola virus works.

Saturday, July 5

Avatar_57x57

Swamp Nurse

In the bayou south of New Orleans, a program called the Nurse-Family Partnership tries to reverse the life chances for babies born into extreme poverty. Sometimes, it actually succeeds.

Friday, July 4

Avatar_57x57

Behind the Yellow Door, a Man’s Mental Illness Worsens

A family struggles as a 42-year-old husband, father and son becomes increasingly isolated.

Thursday, July 3

Avatar_57x57