Friday, August 17

Avatar_57x57

I'm Dying to Meet You in the Next Life

An essay on Alcor – “the Arizona cryonics company that has put the body of Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer Ted Williams in cryogenic suspension, in the hope he may one day rise again” – and the desire to live forever.

Wednesday, August 15

Avatar_57x57

A Shock to the System

On getting a brain implant to slow the progress of Parkinson’s disease.

Monday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

Sunday, August 12

Avatar_57x57

Keystone

On the economics, impact, and communities of the international pipeline.

Wednesday, August 1

Avatar_57x57

Healing Spirits

On the uneasy relationship between magic and medicine.

Avatar_57x57

Healing Spirits

On the uneasy relationship between magic and medicine.

Avatar_57x57

The Heretic

On the legal history of LSD in America and a researcher who never gave up on the drug’s promise.

Tuesday, July 31

Avatar_57x57

How I Hacked My Brain with Adderall: A Cautionary Tale

“Transforming into an Administrative Jekyll for a certain amount of time every day limits the amount of time my Creative Hyde can come up with content to market and sell. Luckily, amphetamines have that problem tackled as well: when you’re using them, you don’t have to sleep… at all.”

Thursday, July 26

Avatar_57x57

Living With Voices

A radical new treatment for auditory hallucinations.

Wednesday, July 25

Avatar_57x57

Did Football Kill Austin Trenum?

Just days after suffering a concussion, a 17-year-old fullback hangs himself. Inside his family’s journey to learn if a brain injury is to blame.

Tuesday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

Heavy Breeding

The 1920s experiment to reverse-engineer wild cows.

Saturday, July 21

Avatar_57x57