Monday, January 25

Avatar_57x57

Meet the Man Who Wants to be President, and Then Live Forever

A week on the campaign trail in the coffin-shaped Immortality Bus with Zoltan Istvan, the presidential candidate for the Transhumanist Party.

Friday, January 22

Saturday, January 16

Avatar_57x57

The DIY Scientist, the Olympian, and the Mutated Gene

How a woman whose muscles disappeared discovered she shared a disease with a muscle-bound Olympic medalist.

Sunday, January 10

Avatar_57x57

The Lawyer Who Became DuPont’s Worst Nightmare

Rob Billot spent eight years defending corporate clients in environmental cases. Then Wilbur Tennant called.

Avatar_57x57

Why We Keep Playing the Lottery

“It’s just beyond our experience—we have nothing in our evolutionary history that prepares us or primes us, no intellectual architecture, to try and grasp the remoteness of those odds.”

Sunday, January 3

Avatar_57x57

Best of Luck

On realizing you’re going to die.

Thursday, December 31

Avatar_57x57

The Terrible Beauty of Brain Surgery

A visit to Albania to watch Henry Marsh perform his pioneering surgery where the patient is kept awake during the removal of a tumor and the “brain is stimulated with an electric probe, so that the surgeon can see if and how the patient reacts.”

Sunday, December 27

Avatar_57x57

Karen Silkwood — Dead Because She Knew Too Much?

She was a young plutonium worker whose Honda Civic Hatchback ran off the road and smashed into the wall of a concrete culvert. In her trunk were manila folders full of documents, which immediately went missing.

Thursday, December 24

Avatar_57x57

Safe Passage

Checking up on an ambitious, controversial conservation initiative, 20 years later.

Thursday, December 17

Avatar_57x57

Miami Underwater

South Florida and the danger of the rising sea.

Monday, December 14

Avatar_57x57

Consciousness Began When the Gods Stopped Speaking

On the unexpected longevity of a very strange theory.

Wednesday, December 9

Avatar_57x57

Encounter With the Infinite

In search of Ramanujan in India.