Thursday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

The Search for Psychology's Lost Boy

An investigation into “Little Albert,” the famous test subject.

Wednesday, June 4

Avatar_57x57

Who Wants to Shoot an Elephant?

“What kind of a person looks upon the world’s largest land animal—a beast that mourns its dead and lives to retirement age and can distinguish the voice of its enemies—and instead of saying ‘Wow!’ says something like ‘Where’s my gun?’”

Tuesday, June 3

Avatar_57x57

Hail Dayton

The legacy of the Scopes trial on one Tennesse town.

Tuesday, May 20

Avatar_57x57

Arrested Development

Gabrielle Williams is nine years old. She weighs just 12 pounds. The mystery of “syndrome x” and the girls who never age.

Avatar_57x57

Animal Magnetism

Why humans love to watch other creatures.

Sunday, May 18

Avatar_57x57

The Dogs of War

On America’s combat canines and their handlers.

Wednesday, May 14

Avatar_57x57

The Devil's Bait

Exploring the riddle of Morgellons disease: sufferers feel things crawling under their skin and hardly anyone believes them.

Thursday, May 8

Avatar_57x57

The Big Sleep

How medically induced hypothermia could save lives.

Tuesday, May 6

Avatar_57x57

The Day I Started Lying to Ruth

A cancer doctor on losing his wife to cancer.

Thursday, May 1

Avatar_57x57

Ecstatic States

Can an illegal drug heal PTSD?

Wednesday, April 30

Avatar_57x57

Love and Death in the Cape Fear Serpentarium

Some passions are more dangerous than others.

Tuesday, April 29

Avatar_57x57

The Reformation: Can Social Scientists Save Themselves?

Policing the world of experimental research in the age of TED talks and Freakonomics.