Friday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

The Last Day of Her Life

A gender studies professor, diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, decides to take control of her death.

Wednesday, May 13

Avatar_57x57

The Wasting

A plague leads sea stars to tear off their own arms.

Nathaniel Rich on the Longform Podcast

Tuesday, May 12

Avatar_57x57

Navigating a New Reality

The informal network of volunteers that keep abortion access open in Texas.

Sunday, May 10

Avatar_57x57

A Return to the Western Shore

On the Aran islands of Ireland.

Saturday, May 9

Avatar_57x57

Symbolism for Beginners

On our relationship with wild horses.

Avatar_57x57

The Rehab Racket

The death of one Nevada man in a chaotic, unregulated, and expensive industry.

Friday, May 8

Avatar_57x57

She Could Be An Olympic Runner, But Her Brain Is At War With Her Body

On Amaris Tyynismaa, the 14-year-old star runner who has Tourette’s.

Monday, May 4

Avatar_57x57

Overkill

How the overdiagnosis of disease makes for unnecessary treatment, high anxiety, and ballooning costs.

Friday, May 1

Avatar_57x57

Holy Water

The author on her reverence for water.

Tuesday, April 28

Avatar_57x57

Walking the Tornado Line

Following a storm that took 72 lives in Alabama.

Saturday, April 25

Avatar_57x57

The Art of Butchery

We are disgusted by butchery, even as we eat more meat than ever.

Saturday, April 18

Avatar_57x57

Thinking Like a Dolphin

The question for researchers isn’t “How smart are dolphins?” It’s “How are dolphins smart?”