Avatar_57x57

Higher and Higher

Defensive end Shawn King was the 36th pick in the 1995 draft. His career with the Carolina Panthers didn’t turn out as planned.

Saturday, January 30

Avatar_57x57

A Guy Like Me

John Scott is a hockey enforcer — he makes his living fighting, not scoring goals. Scott wasn’t supposed to make the NHL. He certainly wasn’t supposed to make the all-star game. But when the fans voted him in, the league tried to keep him on the bench.

Thursday, January 21

Avatar_57x57

The Joy of Cam Newton

A profile of the Carolina Panthers quarterback, this season’s likely MVP.

Monday, January 18

Avatar_57x57

Spun

A bicycling love story.

Saturday, January 16

Avatar_57x57

The DIY Scientist, the Olympian, and the Mutated Gene

How a woman whose muscles disappeared discovered she shared a disease with a muscle-bound Olympic medalist.

Tuesday, January 5

Avatar_57x57

The Wall Dancer

Ashima Shiraishi is the most talented rock climber in the world. She’s also 14.

Friday, January 1

Avatar_57x57

Behind The Photo That Changed The Boston Marathon Forever

A photographer captured the moment when a race organizer confronted a woman who’d snuck into the race.

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, December 31

Avatar_57x57

Snakes Alive!

The Rattlesnake Derby is like a bass-fishing tournament, except you really don’t want a bite.

Sunday, December 27

Avatar_57x57

The Higher Power of Russell Wilson

On the quarterback everyone loves to hate.

Friday, December 25

Avatar_57x57

The Day Bobby Blew It

Bobby Fischer unravels before the 1972 World Chess Championships, a.k.a. the “the Match of the Century.”

Wednesday, December 23

Avatar_57x57

How the Hero of Friday Night Lights Won and Lost His Good Name

Brian Chavez was supposed to be the one who made it out of Odessa. It didn’t turn out that way.


Previously: The original "Friday Night Lights" article, from 1990, reprinted on Longform.