Wednesday, August 14

Avatar_57x57

A profile of Russell Baze, the winningest jockey in American history.

Tuesday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

The family history behind college football’s most talked-about player.

Monday, August 12

Avatar_57x57

Sunday, August 11

Avatar_57x57

How the heir to a horse racing empire became an informant on the Zetas cartel as they pushed their money laundering operations into the lucrative quarter horse trade.

Thursday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

Billy Dillon was about to sign a contract with the Detroit Tigers. Instead he was convicted–wrongly–of first-degree murder and spent the next 27 years in prison.

Wednesday, August 7

Avatar_57x57

How a Peace Corps volunteer turned a high school basketball squad into Afghanistan’s national team.

Sunday, August 4

Avatar_57x57

How cable sports channels extort hundreds of dollars per year out of every cable subscriber for programming that less than 10% regularly watch.

Saturday, August 3

Avatar_57x57

The last great brawling sports team in America—Reggie, Catfish, Goose, Gator, and the Boss—remember their fallen leader.

Wednesday, July 31

Avatar_57x57

The life and sudden death of NASCAR’s Dick Trickle.

Tuesday, July 30

Avatar_57x57

A once-great golfer’s private second act.

Sunday, July 28

Avatar_57x57

Friday, July 26