Saturday, September 28

Avatar_57x57

Risk and Romance Among NBA Groupies: An Embed’s Report

Sex in the NBA in the wake of Magic Johnson’s HIV announcement.

Sunday, September 22

Avatar_57x57

The Forgotten Phenom

The lost dream of Korleone Young, a high school basketball star who skipped college and flamed out after only one NBA season.

Wednesday, September 18

Avatar_57x57

Tomato Can Blues

Charlie Rowan was a small-time cage fighter who couldn’t catch a break. He owed money to impatient people and needed to start over. Late one night, he came up with a plan.

Saturday, September 14

Avatar_57x57

The Great Red Hype

On boxer Canelo Alvarez.

Wednesday, September 11

Avatar_57x57

Beso de los Exoticos

On lucha libre’s exóticos, “wrestlers who dress in drag and kiss their rivals, never quite revealing whether the joke is on their opponents, themselves or conservative Mexican society at large.”

Saturday, September 7

Avatar_57x57

Ryan Leaf's Jailhouse Confessions, Written By His Cell Mate

A profile of the NFL quarterback gone bust.

Thursday, September 5

Avatar_57x57

A Death in Valdosta

In January, the body of a 17-year-old athlete was found in his high school’s gym. The authorities ruled it an accident. His friends and family aren’t convinced.

Friday, August 30

Avatar_57x57

Tommy Morrison's Latest Big Fight

In search of the former boxing champ, who refuses to believe he has HIV.

Wednesday, August 28

Avatar_57x57

The Gangster in the Huddle

On the fall of Aaron Hernandez, who friends say had been “twisted on dust for more than a year” before the murder of Odin Lloyd.

Tuesday, August 27

Sunday, August 25

Avatar_57x57

The Match Maker

On September 20, 1973, 50 million Americans watched Bobby Riggs lose to Billie Jean King in a tennis match dubbed “The Battle of the Sexes.” This spring, a man named Hal Shaw came forward with a secret he’d held for 40 years: Riggs, in debt to the mafia, had lost on purpose.

Friday, August 23

Avatar_57x57

D'Andre Brown's Basketball Dream

On not making the NBA.