Monday, April 15

Avatar_57x57

Why almost everything we think we know about the iconic photo from Robinson’s first game is wrong.

Thursday, April 11

Avatar_57x57

Charles Pierce’s classic GQ profile of Tiger Woods, annotated.

Tuesday, April 9

Avatar_57x57

On Felix Baumgartner and his 24-mile jump.

Avatar_57x57

One year before his death, Mickey Mantle describes a life of drinking.

Thursday, April 4

Avatar_57x57

The crumbling of an American icon.

Wednesday, April 3

Avatar_57x57

A trip to the French island of Réunion to report on a bloody battle between surfers and sharks.

Tuesday, April 2

Avatar_57x57

“At the gym, he’s not Garrett Holeve, the guy with Down syndrome. He’s G-Money, an up-and-coming fighter with big ambitions.”

Friday, March 29

Avatar_57x57

How a 100-mile footrace saved a beleaguered town.

Saturday, March 23

Avatar_57x57

How a longtime gambling addict and a small band of his cronies manipulated both the game and betting exchanges from a tiny Berlin cafe, going as far as buying ownerships of teams in order to insure their failure.

Wednesday, March 20

Avatar_57x57

Amidst the football-obsessed culture of small-town Christian colleges in Kansas, a player is killed at a party.

Tuesday, March 19

Avatar_57x57

In February, Jerusalem’s FC Beitar, the only soccer team in the Israeli Premier League to have never signed an Arab player, signed two Chechnyan Muslims, sparking national controversy and pitting the organization against their ultras fan club La Familia.

Monday, March 18

Avatar_57x57