Thursday, January 16

Avatar_57x57

Runner, Interrupted

What happens when a runner loses his feet?

Wednesday, January 15

Avatar_57x57

Dr. V's Magical Putter

The very complicated life of Dr. Essay Anne Vanderbilt, who once built a very good golf club.

Update: Grantland has published a pair of responses to the reaction to this story, "What Grantland Got Wrong" by Christina Kahrl and "The Dr. V Story: A Letter From the Editor" by Bill Simmons.

Tuesday, January 14

Avatar_57x57

Sabre Rattler

How a rogue p.r. man pulled a fast one on professional hockey.

Friday, January 10

Avatar_57x57

Thursday, January 9

Avatar_57x57

The Steroid Hunt

What baseball writers did during the steroid era.

Avatar_57x57

Wilderness Women

The wild competition to be “worshipped” by Alaska’s most eligible bachelors.

Wednesday, January 8

Avatar_57x57

Afro-Europe in the World Cup

How the children of African immigrants came to control the destiny of teams in France and Belgium and what it says about European identity.

Monday, January 6

Avatar_57x57

Smokey and the Bandit

How Washington Redskins owner Dan Snyder, with a little help from the Bush Administration, got 140 trees chopped down in a national park to improve his view and ruined the life of a park ranger in the process.

Saturday, January 4

Avatar_57x57

Degenerate, Inc.

The life of a mid-level bookie.

Friday, January 3

Avatar_57x57

Remote Control

Tonya Harding, Nancy Kerrigan and the “why me?” misheard around the world.

Monday, December 30

Avatar_57x57

Fallon Fox: The Toughest Woman in Sports

A profile of the first and only transgender MMA fighter.

Sunday, December 29