Friday, December 25

Avatar_57x57

The Day Bobby Blew It

Bobby Fischer unravels before the 1972 World Chess Championships, a.k.a. the “the Match of the Century.”

Wednesday, December 23

Avatar_57x57

How the Hero of Friday Night Lights Won and Lost His Good Name

Brian Chavez was supposed to be the one who made it out of Odessa. It didn’t turn out that way.


Previously: The original "Friday Night Lights" article, from 1990, reprinted on Longform.

Thursday, December 17

Avatar_57x57

The Banner Campaign

How a disgruntled group of University of Miami football fans got the head coach fired by flying insulting airplane banners high over Sun Life Stadium.

Wednesday, December 9

Avatar_57x57

Ronda Rousey Says She's Down But Not Out

A profile of the UFC fighter after her first loss.

Friday, December 4

Avatar_57x57

Tiger's Private Struggles

An interview with Tiger Woods as he turns 40.

“I peaked at 11, to be honest with you.”

Thursday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Race Against Time

Andrea Duke is 36. She began running marathons competitively two years ago. She’s already qualified for the Olympic Trials.

Monday, November 30

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, November 28

Avatar_57x57

Revenge of the Nerds

How the Caltech basketball team, losers of 310 straight conference games, figured out a formula for winning.

Tuesday, November 24

Avatar_57x57

Why Did Derrick Gordon Make History and Then Suddenly Shun the Spotlight?

What happened after the first openly gay player in Division I men’s basketball came out.

Sunday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

The Samoan Pipeline

How a tiny island 5,000 miles from the U.S. mainland has produced so many NFL players.

Friday, November 20

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, November 18

Avatar_57x57

“Why Him, Why Me?”

The death of a high school football player and the life that has followed for the kid who made the hit.