Friday, April 1

Avatar_57x57

The Curious Case of Sidd Finch

A profile of a previously unknown rookie pitcher for the Mets who dropped out of Harvard, made a spiritual quest to Tibet, and somewhere along the line figured out how to throw a baseball much, much faster than anyone else on Earth.

Wednesday, March 30

Avatar_57x57

Water's Edge

Bill May, considered to be the greatest male synchronized swimmer who ever lived, and his long quest for Olympic gold.

Tuesday, March 29

Avatar_57x57

This Will End Well

The world’s best ice climber is turning 50.

Monday, March 28

Avatar_57x57

Fight

Two men entered the ring for their first professional boxing match. Only one survived.

Sunday, March 27

Avatar_57x57

Running With Trout

A runner and her dog.

Saturday, March 26

Avatar_57x57

The Rise and Fall of Wrestling's Weed-Dealing, Cat-Breeding Phenom

How the heir to the Hart wrestling dynasty burned every bridge from Canada to Mexico.

Thursday, March 24

Avatar_57x57

You Won't Believe How Nike Lost Steph to Under Armour

“The pitch meeting kicked off with one Nike official accidentally addressing Stephen as 'Steph-on.' ... It got worse from there. A PowerPoint slide featured Kevin Durant's name, presumably left on by accident, presumably residue from repurposed materials.”

Tuesday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

Drew Brees Has a Dream He'd Like to Sell You

It’s a multilevel marketing company called AdvoCare. Or maybe it’s a pyramid scheme.

Tuesday, March 8

Avatar_57x57

Champion of the Underworld

Bobby Gunn has fought 71 illicit bare-knuckle boxing matches. He’s never lost.

Thursday, March 3

Avatar_57x57

Tuesday, February 23

Avatar_57x57

A Ghost Among Us

One woman’s attempt to break the speed record on the Pacific Crest Trail.

Tuesday, February 16

Avatar_57x57

The FBI vs. FIFA

How the feds flipped a corrupt American soccer official named Chuck Blazer and brought down the sport’s governing body.