Avatar_57x57

I Followed My Stolen iPhone Around the World, Became a Celebrity in China, and Found a Friend for Life

“None of this should have ever happened. It makes absolutely no sense at all. It’s truly crazy.”

Saturday, March 28

Avatar_57x57

The Shut-In Economy

There are two roles to play in the new world of on-demand everything: royalty or servant.

Sunday, March 22

Avatar_57x57

The Strange Saga and Dark Secrets of Matt DeHart

The government says Matt DeHart is an online child predator. DeHart—and his parents—say he’s being framed over his knowledge of CIA secrets.

Friday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

Disney's $1 Billion Bet on a Magical Wristband

The quest to create a friction-free Disney World.

Wednesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

A Tale of Money, Sex and Power: The Ellen Pao and Buddy Fletcher Affair

How Alphonse “Buddy” Fletcher Jr., an openly gay hedge fund star, came to marry Ellen Pao, a partner at a powerful Silicon Valley firm, before they “went to war with their elite worlds.”

Tuesday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

Shitphone: A Love Story

Giving up the iPhone ghost, and other forays into knock-off technology.

Friday, March 6

Avatar_57x57

Brianna Wu vs. the Troll Army

“I laugh off 90 percent of the stuff I’m sent,” Wu says. “But it’s the 10 percent.”

Wednesday, March 4

Avatar_57x57

This Is What It’s Like To Go To Prison For Trolling

The afterlife of a thoughtless, cruel insult.

Tuesday, March 3

Avatar_57x57

The Plot to Free North Korea With Smuggled Episodes of ‘Friends’

USB sticks bearing digital video are the new radio.

Wednesday, February 11

Avatar_57x57

The Man Who Tried to Redeem the World With Logic

Walter Pitts, who helped develop the “first mechanistic theory of the mind,” was so brilliant he was once been invited to study with Bertrand Russell. He was also homeless.

Saturday, February 7

Thursday, February 5

Avatar_57x57

The Pro Dumpster Diver Who’s Making Thousands Off America’s Biggest Retailers

Even the dumpster divers of America are becoming tech-savvy, well-earning entrepreneurs.