Wednesday, January 30


Google Invades

Boomtown San Francisco, as seen from the “Google Bus.”

Friday, January 25


Memory to Myth

The life and work of Aaron Swartz, in context.

Saturday, January 19


Baudrillard and Babes at the Consumer Electronics Show

A trip to CES, “what a World’s Fair might look like if brands were more important than countries.”

Friday, January 18


Deception Is Futile

In search of the perfect lie detector test.

Wednesday, January 16


For Amusement Only

From pinball prohibition in 1940s NYC to Dave & Buster’s, the rise and fall of the American arcade.

Saturday, January 12


RIP, Aaron Swartz

A eulogy for the activist.

Tuesday, January 8


What Turned Jaron Lanier Against the Web?

An internet pioneer loses hope in the promise of web culture.

Friday, January 4


The Immortalization of an Anonymous Death

On Dylan Yount, a man who jumped from a San Francisco building, and the people who watched, recorded and, in some cases, encouraged his suicide.

Saturday, December 29


How Much Tech Can One City Take?

How a burgeoning tech workforce swallowed San Francisco.

Friday, December 28


I Spy

How amateur satellite aficionados track the U.S. government’s spy technology.

Saturday, December 8


The Rise and Fall of Jeremy Hammond: Enemy of the State

On the U.S. government’s pursuit of a legendary hacker.

Sunday, December 2


The Zombie Hunters

Tracking cyberextortionists and their roving swarms of bots.