Tuesday, July 24

Avatar_57x57

End Game

How Curt Schilling’s video-game company went bust.

Thursday, July 19

Avatar_57x57

No Death, No Taxes

Libertarian, futurist, billionaire: a profile of Peter Thiel.

Sunday, July 15

Avatar_57x57

Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Shooter

Why people play violent video games.

Tuesday, July 10

Avatar_57x57

The Stupidity of Computers

A history of the divide between computing and language, and why we “define and regiment our lives, including our social lives and our perceptions of our selves, in ways that are conducive to what a computer can ‘understand.’”

Avatar_57x57

The Stupidity of Computers

A history of the divide between computing and language, and why we “define and regiment our lives, including our social lives and our perceptions of our selves, in ways that are conducive to what a computer can ‘understand.’”

Wednesday, July 4

Avatar_57x57

Monday, June 25

Avatar_57x57

Monday, June 18

Avatar_57x57

Of Flying Cars and the Declining Rate of Profit

How technological progress slowed from its 20th-century peak, why we’ve shifted from changing reality to simply simulating reality, and whether capitalism is the true culprit.

Wednesday, June 13

Avatar_57x57

Tetris: Can a Cold War Classic Evolve for the Touchscreen?

The game’s past, present, and future.

Sunday, June 10

Avatar_57x57

Return to Sender

Shiva Ayyadurai told the world he invented email. Not everyone agreed.

Tuesday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

The Unabomber's Pen Pal

Teaching Ted Kaczynski’s anti-technology ideas.

Monday, June 4

Avatar_57x57

“Hello, I Am Sabu ...”

A profile of Hector Xavier Monsegur, aka Sabu, a hacker star of Anonymous and resident of a New York City housing project.