Monday, June 18

Avatar_57x57

Of Flying Cars and the Declining Rate of Profit

How technological progress slowed from its 20th-century peak, why we’ve shifted from changing reality to simply simulating reality, and whether capitalism is the true culprit.

Wednesday, June 13

Avatar_57x57

Tetris: Can a Cold War Classic Evolve for the Touchscreen?

The game’s past, present, and future.

Sunday, June 10

Avatar_57x57

Return to Sender

Shiva Ayyadurai told the world he invented email. Not everyone agreed.

Tuesday, June 5

Avatar_57x57

The Unabomber's Pen Pal

Teaching Ted Kaczynski’s anti-technology ideas.

Monday, June 4

Avatar_57x57

“Hello, I Am Sabu ...”

A profile of Hector Xavier Monsegur, aka Sabu, a hacker star of Anonymous and resident of a New York City housing project.

Tuesday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

How Yahoo Killed Flickr and Lost the Internet

The autopsy of a once-dominant site.

Avatar_57x57

How Yahoo Killed Flickr and Lost the Internet

The autopsy of a once-dominant site.

Thursday, May 10

Avatar_57x57

Scamworld

An exposé of Internet Marketers.

Tuesday, May 8

Avatar_57x57

The Lost Steve Jobs Tapes

From failure to Pixar, Steve Jobs’ “wilderness years.”

Monday, May 7

Avatar_57x57

The Maturation of the Billionaire Boy-Man

A profile of Mark Zuckerberg, savvy CEO.

Avatar_57x57

The Maturation of the Billionaire Boy-Man

A profile of Mark Zuckerberg, savvy CEO.

Wednesday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

Scripting on the Lido Deck

On board the Perl Whirl 2000, a conference of hard-coding geeks on a luxury cruise ship.