Tuesday, March 26

Avatar_57x57

Life, Death, and Free Culture in the Mission

On Ilya Zhitomirskiy, an idealistic young developer who committed suicide 18 months after founding Diaspora, his well-publicized, open-source alternative to Facebook.

Saturday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Greed Is Groupon

The daily deals company turned down a $6 billion offer from Google and went public. Now its stock is down 80% and its founder/CEO has been fired. On Groupon’s failed strategy and tenuous future.

Sunday, March 3

Avatar_57x57

That’s Not A Droid, That’s My Girlfriend

On the development of companion robots in Japan.

Thursday, February 14

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, February 13

Avatar_57x57

Welcome to the Malware-Industrial Complex

How governments and private companies have engaged in digital arms trading by building a global black market for ‘zero day’ hacks.

Monday, February 11

Avatar_57x57

Gratuitous Pictures of Your Grief

On the late singer Judee Sill, the virtual cemetery site Find a Grave, and memorials in the age of the Twitter RIP.

Tuesday, February 5

Avatar_57x57

The Panasonic Toughpad Press Conference

“I am not a tech journalist. I have never done this before. I don’t know what’s going on. Like most journalists everywhere, I am hungover.”

Friday, February 1

Avatar_57x57

And the Award for the Next HBO Goes to...

On CEO Reed Hastings and the future of Netflix.

Thursday, January 31

Avatar_57x57

Hackers in China Attacked The Times for Last 4 Months

The paper reports on a battle of its own.

Wednesday, January 30

Avatar_57x57

Google Invades

Boomtown San Francisco, as seen from the “Google Bus.”

Friday, January 25

Avatar_57x57

Memory to Myth

The life and work of Aaron Swartz, in context.

Saturday, January 19

Avatar_57x57

Baudrillard and Babes at the Consumer Electronics Show

A trip to CES, “what a World’s Fair might look like if brands were more important than countries.”