Monday, July 1

Sunday, June 30

Avatar_57x57

The Watchers

A startup’s plan to launch a fleet of cheap, small, ultra-efficient imaging satellites and revolutionize data collection.

Thursday, June 27

Avatar_57x57

Jimmy Wales Is Not an Internet Billionaire

The long, strange trip of the Wikipedia founder, who went from being an Insane Clown Posse fan who owned the “Bomis Babe Report” to a jet-setter married to “the most connected woman in London,” all without turning much of a profit.

Monday, June 17

Avatar_57x57

Scrubbed

Inside the world of high-priced online reputation management.

Avatar_57x57

The Prism

“As a matter of historical analysis, the relationship between secrecy and privacy can be stated in an axiom: the defense of privacy follows, and never precedes, the emergence of new technologies for the exposure of secrets. In other words, the case for privacy always comes too late.”

Saturday, June 15

Avatar_57x57

"Weaponize the Media": An Anonymous Rapper's War on Steubenville

What happens when a 26-year-old Kentucky resident decides to investigate a rape case from his computer.

Monday, June 10

Avatar_57x57

Change the World

The emerging political consciousness of Silicon Valley.

Sunday, June 9

Avatar_57x57

Are Coders Worth It?

On cushy jobs in web development, deeply un-cushy opportunities in writing, and our assumptions about the value of labor.

Friday, June 7

Avatar_57x57

Silent War

Tracing a secretive cyber-war’s battles and casualties.

Monday, June 3

Avatar_57x57

Encounters with the Posthuman

On artists using their bodies to blur the line between human and machine.

Monday, May 20

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, May 18

Avatar_57x57

Revenge, Ego and the Corruption of Wikipedia

The outing of a failed writer who spent years anonymously grinding axes on Wikipedia.