Monday, June 10

Avatar_57x57

Change the World

The emerging political consciousness of Silicon Valley.

Sunday, June 9

Avatar_57x57

Are Coders Worth It?

On cushy jobs in web development, deeply un-cushy opportunities in writing, and our assumptions about the value of labor.

Friday, June 7

Avatar_57x57

Silent War

Tracing a secretive cyber-war’s battles and casualties.

Monday, June 3

Avatar_57x57

Encounters with the Posthuman

On artists using their bodies to blur the line between human and machine.

Monday, May 20

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, May 18

Avatar_57x57

Revenge, Ego and the Corruption of Wikipedia

The outing of a failed writer who spent years anonymously grinding axes on Wikipedia.

Thursday, May 16

Avatar_57x57

The Heartbreaking Case of Zhu Ling

How the case of a poisoned college student in China, cold for 18 years, has suddenly turned into “what may be the largest amateur online manhunt in history.”

Wednesday, May 15

Avatar_57x57

Drugstore Cowboy

The con man who cost Google $500 million.

Tuesday, May 14

Avatar_57x57

Welcome to the Programmable World

In the not-so-distant future, all of our objects will talk to each other. They’ll make our coffee, find our keys, save our lives. The roadmap to a fully networked existence.

Monday, May 13

Avatar_57x57

Laptop U

The possibilities and pitfalls of massive open online courses (MOOCs).

Saturday, April 27

Avatar_57x57

A History of Like

Marketing research,the pre-Facebook history of ‘likeability,’ and why there will never be a ‘dislike’ button.

Tuesday, April 16

Avatar_57x57

Web Dreams

The story of suck.com.