Thursday, March 17

Avatar_57x57

How a Ragtag Gang of Retirees Pulled Off the Biggest Jewel Heist in British History

Most of the men were in their 60s and 70s, with heart conditions, diabetes, and replacement hips. They made off with millions in cash and jewels, only to give themselves up by not understanding how technology works.

Sunday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

What Happens When the Surveillance State Becomes an Affordable Gadget?

Your local police department probably has a $400,00 device that listens in on cellphones. Soon your neighbor will be able to buy the same thing for $1,500.

Friday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

An Arrogant Way of Killing

Part 1 of "The Mastermind," a serialized investigation of Paul Le Roux, who went from brilliant programmer to vicious cartel boss to highly protected U.S. government asset.

Friday, March 4

Avatar_57x57

Life and Death in the App Store

Middle class apps struggle to survive.

Wednesday, March 2

Avatar_57x57

Welcome to the World’s First Robot Hotel

A trip to Japan and a glimpse of our automated future.

Tuesday, February 23

Avatar_57x57

Friday, February 12

Avatar_57x57

Mr. (Swipe) Right?

After a year of tumult and scandal at Tinder, ousted founder Sean Rad is back in charge. Now can he — and his company — grow up?

Sunday, January 31

Avatar_57x57

Death of a Troll

The story behind an online gamer’s suicide.

Thursday, January 14

Avatar_57x57

The Dragnet

After Daniel Rigmaiden was arrested for a multi-million dollar fraud, he didn’t argue that he was innocent. He wasn’t. But he couldn’t understand how he had been caught. Rigmaiden had covered his tracks meticulously — the only way the cops could’ve found him, he realized, was through some secret tracking device that they had never disclosed to the public.

Thursday, January 7

Avatar_57x57

Who Controls Your Facebook Feed

The humans behind the algorithm.

Tuesday, January 5

Avatar_57x57

Playing for Time

A father, his dying son, and the quest to make the most profound video game ever.

Previously: The Longform Guide to Video Game Visionaries

Monday, December 21

Avatar_57x57