Wednesday, April 23

Avatar_57x57

The dark side of startup life in Silicon Valley.

An extended version of this story is available as an ebook.

Tuesday, April 22

Avatar_57x57

An interview with Barry Diller about Aereo and the past, present and future of TV.

Previously: Vanessa Grigoriadis on the Longform Podcast.

Sunday, April 13

Avatar_57x57

Shai Agassi had nearly $1 billion in funding and a dream to replace gas guzzlers with electric cars. All he was missing was a plan.

Friday, April 4

Avatar_57x57

A teenager orchestrates his own attempted murder via an Internet chatroom.

Avatar_57x57

An investigation into the ill-fated text messaging platform ZunZuneo.

Thursday, March 27

Avatar_57x57

Monday, March 24

Avatar_57x57

In an old mine an hour north of Pittsburgh, 600 federal employees manage paperwork for the government’s retirement system. By hand. On paper. Without computers. The same exact way they always have.

Sunday, March 23

Avatar_57x57

An engineering team races to create a next-generation computer.

The first installment of The Soul of a New Machine.

Saturday, March 22

Avatar_57x57

On (not) getting by in the gig economy.

Thursday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

Tuesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

Despite its association with piracy, BitTorrent is a company in its own right, and one desperate to hit upon a way to monetize its revolutionary file transfer technology.

Tuesday, February 25

Avatar_57x57

Trying to understand the appeal of Eve Online.