A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store

Monday, June 2

Avatar_57x57

The Internet With a Human Face

Privacy, memory, data and advertising—how the modern web has become a Ponzi scheme and how we might be able to fix it.

Sunday, May 25

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, May 24

Avatar_57x57

"Let’s, Like, Demolish Laundry"

The laundry wars of Silicon Valley.

Avatar_57x57

How YouTube and Internet Journalism Destroyed Tom Cruise, Our Last Real Movie Star

Tom Cruise did not, in fact, jump up and down on Oprah’s couch.

Monday, May 19

Avatar_57x57

Inside the US Government's War on Tech Support Scammers

The fall of PCCare247, an Indian company in the business of selling fixes to problems that didn’t exist.

Friday, May 16

Avatar_57x57

The Rise of Nintendo: A Story in 8 Bits

How a Japanese company took over the American living room.

Excerpted from Console Wars.

Monday, May 12

Avatar_57x57

Schooled

Cory Booker, Chris Christie, and Mark Zuckerberg had a plan to reform Newark’s schools. They got an education.

Monday, May 5

Avatar_57x57

The End of Food

The story of Soylent, a Silicon Valley concoction designed to replace your meals.

Friday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

The Great Works of Software

In appreciation of meaningful, ubiquitous, enduring applications.

Previously: Paul Ford on the Longform Podcast.

Sunday, April 27

Avatar_57x57

Scammed

A reclusive hacker wages a shadow war against payday loan cyber-extortioners.

Friday, April 25

Avatar_57x57

The Untold Story of Larry Page's Incredible Comeback

How the Google co-founder, forced out of a leadership role in 2001, came back to run the company 10 years later.

Wednesday, April 23

Avatar_57x57

No Exit: Struggling to Survive a Modern Gold Rush

The dark side of startup life in Silicon Valley.

An extended version of this story is available as an ebook.