Monday, January 5

Avatar_57x57

Big Mother Is Watching You

The promises and pitfalls of self-tracking devices and apps.

Previously: Anne Helen Peterson on the Longform Podcast.

Thursday, January 1

Avatar_57x57

Disney CEO Bob Iger's Empire of Tech

How he made big and early bets on new technologies — and won.

Monday, December 29

Avatar_57x57

King of Clickbait

How a young entrepreneur built a media empire by repackaging memes.

Friday, December 26

Avatar_57x57

A Changing Mission

To whom does San Francisco’s oldest neighborhood belong?

Tuesday, December 23

Avatar_57x57

The Troll Hunters

A group of journalists and researchers wade into ugly corners of the Internet to expose racists, creeps, and hypocrites. Have they gone too far?

Sunday, December 21

Avatar_57x57

The Lives of Ronald Pinn

Creating, and then attempting to dismantle, a fake persona based on a man who died in 1984.

Thursday, December 11

Avatar_57x57

How The NYPD Is Using Social Media To Put Harlem Teens Behind Bars

How Facebook ‘likes’ landed Jelani Henry in Rikers.

Wednesday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

The Complete and Chaotic History of Reddit

“Traffic was never the problem. Everything else was.”

Friday, December 5

Avatar_57x57

How an eBay Bookseller Defeated a Publishing Giant at the Supreme Court

What the first-sale doctrine means for the future of copyright.

Wednesday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

The Golden Quarter

Why the boom in scientific progress stalled.

Avatar_57x57

The Bitcoin Boy

On a 16-year-old Silicon Valley wunderkind.

Tuesday, December 2

Avatar_57x57

Magical Thinking: Bitcoin Gathers at Disney

Bitcoin partying at an Orlando hotel with worshippers of the blockchain.