Thursday, June 25


Who Set Jessica Chambers on Fire? The Internet Is Trying to Find Out

A murder case in Mississippi catches the eye of amateur sleuths on Facebook, who proceed to harass everyone involved in the case.

Saturday, June 13


Instagram’s Most Famous Mules

On the man who has turned the grunt work of packing into a social media phenomenon.

Thursday, June 11


What Is Code?

A 38,000-word answer.

Wednesday, June 10


Tuesday, June 2


The Agency

An investigation into a Russian “troll farm.”

Thursday, May 14


The Real Teens of Silicon Valley

High school dropouts are descending on San Francisco with nothing more than a backpacks full of clothes and ideas.


The Untold Story of Silk Road, Part 2: The Fall

First they found his server, then they found his name. But if they couldn’t catch him with his laptop open, the whole thing would fall apart.

Monday, May 11


Who Funds the Future?

Inside the mind of Marc Andreessen.

Friday, May 8


I Was an Undercover Uber Driver

Uber says its drivers can earn as much as $90,000. The author decided to fact-check that number the only way she could: by becoming a driver herself.

Previously: The Longform Guide to Undercover Journalism

Thursday, April 30


ZPM Espresso and the Rage of the Jilted Crowdfunder

What happens when a successfully funded Kickstarter product fails to launch?

Wednesday, April 29


Game of Fear

A man felt wronged by his ex-girlfriend, a video game designer. So he published a 9,425-word online screed with "each component designed to be as damaging to [her] as possible." It sparked the online fire known as "Gamergate."