Monday, May 12

Avatar_57x57

Schooled

Cory Booker, Chris Christie, and Mark Zuckerberg had a plan to reform Newark’s schools. They got an education.

Monday, May 5

Avatar_57x57

The End of Food

The story of Soylent, a Silicon Valley concoction designed to replace your meals.

Friday, May 2

Avatar_57x57

The Great Works of Software

In appreciation of meaningful, ubiquitous, enduring applications.

Previously: Paul Ford on the Longform Podcast.

Sunday, April 27

Avatar_57x57

Scammed

A reclusive hacker wages a shadow war against payday loan cyber-extortioners.

Friday, April 25

Avatar_57x57

The Untold Story of Larry Page's Incredible Comeback

How the Google co-founder, forced out of a leadership role in 2001, came back to run the company 10 years later.

Wednesday, April 23

Avatar_57x57

No Exit: Struggling to Survive a Modern Gold Rush

The dark side of startup life in Silicon Valley.

An extended version of this story is available as an ebook.

Tuesday, April 22

Avatar_57x57

Blow Up the Box

An interview with Barry Diller about Aereo and the past, present and future of TV.

Previously: Vanessa Grigoriadis on the Longform Podcast.

Sunday, April 13

Avatar_57x57

A Broken Place: The Spectacular Failure of the Startup That Was Going to Change the World

Shai Agassi had nearly $1 billion in funding and a dream to replace gas guzzlers with electric cars. All he was missing was a plan.

Friday, April 4

Avatar_57x57

“U Want Me 2 Kill Him?”

A teenager orchestrates his own attempted murder via an Internet chatroom.

Avatar_57x57

U.S. Secretly Created 'Cuban Twitter' to Stir Unrest

An investigation into the ill-fated text messaging platform ZunZuneo.

Thursday, March 27

Avatar_57x57

Monday, March 24

Avatar_57x57

Sinkhole of Bureaucracy

In an old mine an hour north of Pittsburgh, 600 federal employees manage paperwork for the government’s retirement system. By hand. On paper. Without computers. The same exact way they always have.