Avatar_57x57

Dark Winter

Ten years after anthrax attacks, biodefense is busted.

Avatar_57x57

The Big, Bad Wolfowitz?

A profile of then-Deputy Secretary of Defense Paul Wolfowitz.

Friday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

Spy in the Machine

NSA-grade spyware is up for sale, and the world’s worst dictatorships are buying.

Monday, January 19

Avatar_57x57

The Whole Haystack

The N.S.A. claims it needs access to all our phone records. But is that the best way to catch a terrorist?

Saturday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

To Live and Die in Gitmo

What one sergeant says he saw before the alleged suicides of three detainees.

Friday, January 9

Avatar_57x57

Into Afghanistan’s Taliban Valley

Untouched by Western journalists except in the presence of American troops, Afghanistan’s Korengal Valley was once the most violent part of the Afghan War.

Thursday, January 8

Avatar_57x57

The Search for Petr Khokhlov

A Russian soldier vanishes in Ukraine.

Tuesday, January 6

Avatar_57x57

Enemy Aliens

The history of civilian internment camps.

Thursday, January 1

Avatar_57x57

Prisoner of Conscience

For the first time since exposing the atrocities at Abu Ghraib, Joe Darby speaks out.

Monday, December 29

Avatar_57x57

The Tragedy of the American Military

The United States fights wars it can’t win using soldiers it doesn’t know.

Sunday, December 28

Avatar_57x57

A Road Trip Across America

Reporting on the “American Way of Life,” two years after the end of World War II.

Saturday, December 13

Avatar_57x57

Inside Monopoly's Secret War Against the Third Reich

Christopher Clayton Hutton hatched a plan to deliver Monopoly boards to British prisoners of war. The games were advertised as a diversion, but really they offered a way out.