Avatar_57x57

The 'Caliphate's' Colonies: Islamic State's Gradual Expansion into North Africa

“The Jihad route leads from Tunisia via Tripoli into Turkey and on to Syria. Thousands have followed the path into Syria, and only a few have returned.”

Tuesday, November 18

Avatar_57x57

Firestone and the Warlord

How a major American company helped bring Charles Taylor to power in Liberia.

Monday, November 17

Avatar_57x57

Hell Is Other People

A report from the Central African Republic, where "acts of extraordinary cruelty have become commonplace."

Wednesday, October 29

Avatar_57x57

My Captivity

An American journalist on being kidnapped, tortured and released in Syria.

Wednesday, October 15

Avatar_57x57

The Secret Casualties of Iraq’s Abandoned Chemical Weapons

When American and Iraqi soldiers were exposed to leftover chemical munitions from Saddam Hussein’s war against Iran, the Pentagon kept silent.

Tuesday, October 14

Avatar_57x57

My Terrifying Night With Afghanistan's Only Female Warlord

Inside the stronghold of Commander Pigeon, “collector of lost and exiled men.”

Saturday, October 11

Avatar_57x57

The Spy Who Scammed Us?

Jamie Smith said he was a co-founder of Blackwater and a former CIA officer. He appeared on cable news as a counterterrorism expert and he received millions in goverment contracts to train personnel. The money was real. The resume wasn’t.

Friday, October 10

Avatar_57x57

The Lessons of Atmeh

The complexities of offering aid to a Syrian refugee camp.

Friday, September 26

Avatar_57x57

“Your Future Is Very Dark”

On former CIA agent John T. Downey, who spent more than 20 years in China as the longest held American captive of war.

Tuesday, September 23

Avatar_57x57

The Fight of Their Lives

ISIS vs. the Kurds.

Wednesday, September 17

Avatar_57x57

Dark Side of the Moon

On the Cold War and the Space Race.

Monday, September 15

Avatar_57x57

Whoever Saves a Life

Seven days with Syria’s first responders.