Avatar_57x57

Daniel Wolfe Is Killing Himself Live on Facebook

The search for an Iraq veteran on the brink of suicide.

Saturday, August 15

Avatar_57x57

Mothers of ISIS

The stories of four women whose children joined the Islamic State.

Thursday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

ISIS Enshrines a Theology of Rape

The system of organized sexual slavery at the heart of ISIS.

Rukmini Callimachi on the Longform Podcast

Tuesday, August 11

Avatar_57x57

Twilight of the Bomb

A physicist remembers working on the Manhattan Project.

Avatar_57x57

At War in the Garden of Eden

Visiting with the Christian fighters defending Iraq’s Nineveh Plains.

Saturday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

Hiroshima

The lives of six people who survived the atomic bombing.

Saturday, July 18

Avatar_57x57

"I'm Not a Butcher"

An interview with a man who organized suicide bombings for ISIS.

Wednesday, July 15

Avatar_57x57

The Life of an Auschwitz Guard

Oskar Groening, an SS officer whose duties included counting confiscated money, describes his time posted to Auschwitz.

Editor's note: At age 94, Groening was convicted yesterday of 300,000 counts of accessory to murder and sentenced to four years in prison.

Monday, June 22

Avatar_57x57

A Thousand Splendid Stuns

Growing up Afghan in the era of the Afghanistan War.

Thursday, June 11

Avatar_57x57

How Isis Crippled al-Qaida

The inside story of the coup that has brought the world’s most feared terrorist network to the brink of collapse.

Thursday, May 28

Avatar_57x57

"I Just Wish for People to Give Me a Chance"

Omar Khadr was 15 when he was captured in Afghanistan in 2002. He was held in Guantanamo for years without charges. He was tortured. And earlier this month, after nearly 13 years behind bars, he was released on bail.

Friday, May 22

Avatar_57x57

How We’re Failing Our Female Veterans

From equipment that doesn’t fit to an ill-equipped VA medical system.