Avatar_57x57

American Deserter

There is one place in the world where AWOL U.S. soldiers who lost faith in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars — long before their countrymen did — are most at risk right now. It’s Canada.

Tuesday, February 24

Avatar_57x57

How the Killing of a Trans Filipina Woman Ignited An International Incident

Justice isn’t so easy to come by when an American soldier stationed abroad is accused of murder.

Saturday, February 21

Avatar_57x57

Bad Lieutenant

A leading Guantanamo interrogator was once a Chicago police detective accused of police brutality.

Thursday, February 19

Avatar_57x57

Destroyed By the Espionage Act

You can have a PhD from Yale. You can be a rising star in the State Department. And you can still find yourself being investigated by the FBI for espionage.

Monday, February 9

Avatar_57x57

Send in the Weathermen

Inside the world of special operations weather technicians, “the Department of Defense’s only commando forecasters.”

Friday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

Spy in the Machine

NSA-grade spyware is up for sale, and the world’s worst dictatorships are buying.

Monday, January 19

Avatar_57x57

The Whole Haystack

The N.S.A. claims it needs access to all our phone records. But is that the best way to catch a terrorist?

Saturday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

To Live and Die in Gitmo

What one sergeant says he saw before the alleged suicides of three detainees.

Friday, January 9

Avatar_57x57

Into Afghanistan’s Taliban Valley

Untouched by Western journalists except in the presence of American troops, Afghanistan’s Korengal Valley was once the most violent part of the Afghan War.

Thursday, January 8

Avatar_57x57

The Search for Petr Khokhlov

A Russian soldier vanishes in Ukraine.

Tuesday, January 6

Avatar_57x57

Enemy Aliens

The history of civilian internment camps.

Monday, December 29

Avatar_57x57

The Tragedy of the American Military

The United States fights wars it can’t win using soldiers it doesn’t know.