Avatar_57x57

Inside Monopoly's Secret War Against the Third Reich

Christopher Clayton Hutton hatched a plan to deliver Monopoly boards to British prisoners of war. The games were advertised as a diversion, but really they offered a way out.

Friday, December 12

Avatar_57x57

The Making of a Narco State

Following the money and the opium in Afghanistan.

Thursday, December 11

Avatar_57x57

Isis: The Inside Story

An Islamic State senior commander reveals the terror group’s origins.

Wednesday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

Why No One Remembers the Peacemakers

Why do we honor dead soldiers rather than the fighters who deserted and the activists who demanded peace?

Saturday, December 6

Avatar_57x57

In and Out of Time in Iraq

An essay on PTSD.

Wednesday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Iraq: The New War

A 2003 essay that foreshadows the emergence of the Islamic State a decade later – an insurgency incited by American policy in Iraq during the early days of the war.

Saturday, November 29

Avatar_57x57

The Jihad Cult: Why Young Germans Are Answering Call to Holy War

More than 500 Germans, including a former rapper named Deso Dogg, have joined ISIS in Syria.

Saturday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

Losing the War

An essay, originally published over two issues, on how and why we forget war.

Wednesday, November 19

Avatar_57x57

The 'Caliphate's' Colonies: Islamic State's Gradual Expansion into North Africa

“The Jihad route leads from Tunisia via Tripoli into Turkey and on to Syria. Thousands have followed the path into Syria, and only a few have returned.”

Tuesday, November 18

Avatar_57x57

Firestone and the Warlord

How a major American company helped bring Charles Taylor to power in Liberia.

Monday, November 17

Avatar_57x57

Hell Is Other People

A report from the Central African Republic, where "acts of extraordinary cruelty have become commonplace."

Wednesday, October 29

Avatar_57x57

My Captivity

An American journalist on being kidnapped, tortured and released in Syria.