Monday, August 25

Avatar_57x57

The Soft-Kill Solution

The future (and past) of non-lethal weaponry deployed against civilian populations.

Thursday, August 21

Avatar_57x57

Last Tango in Kabul

While war raged across Afghanistan, expats lived in a bubble of good times and easy money. But as the U.S. withdraws, life has taken a deadly turn.

Wednesday, August 20

Avatar_57x57

The Interpreters

The full text of a 20,000-word ebook on the interpreters who worked alongside American soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan, and their fates once they were no longer of service.

The Interpreters is also available free on Amazon.

Tuesday, August 19

Avatar_57x57

Evaporated

On the trail of Austin Tice and the late James Foley, freelance journalists who were kidnapped in Syria in 2012.

Monday, August 18

Avatar_57x57

The French and Indian War in Pittsburgh: A Memoir

On a childhood fascination with the mid-18th century battle.

Saturday, August 16

Avatar_57x57

The War Photo No One Would Publish

When Kenneth Jarecke photographed the charred remains of an Iraqi soldier during the Gulf War, he thought it might help challenge the popular narrative of a clean, uncomplicated battle. He was wrong.

Wednesday, August 13

Avatar_57x57

The Most Wanted Man in the World

Catching up with Edward Snowden in Moscow.

Sunday, August 10

Avatar_57x57

Nothing Says "Sorry Our Drones Hit Your Wedding Party" Like $800,000 and Some Guns

Untangling the aftermath of a United States drone strike in Yemen.

Friday, August 8

Avatar_57x57

How Libya Blew Billions and Its Best Chance at Democracy

Following Muammar Qaddafi’s death in 2011, Libya had hundreds of billions of dollars. This is the story of how it was erased.

Previously: David Samuels on the Longform Podcast.

Thursday, August 7

Avatar_57x57

While The World Watched

The World Cup and Argentina’s “Dirty War.”

Friday, July 25

Avatar_57x57

"Then I Saw Them Everywhere. Children’s Belongings Were Everywhere.”

How the crash of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 rippled around the world, from the the battlefield of Ukraine to Schiphol Airport in Amsterdam to the White House.

Thursday, July 17

Avatar_57x57

The Forgotten Internment

During World War II, the indigenous Aleut people were forced into camps. 10% died.