Saturday, October 3


"They Were Torturing to Kill"

The photographs that Caesar, a Syrian military photographer, smuggled out of Assad’s death dungeons.

Friday, September 25


The Good Soldier

Struggling with depression and thoughts of suicide, Army officer Lawrence Franks went AWOL. Five years later, he reappeared as Christopher Flaherty, a member of the French Foreign Legion who served three tours in Africa. Then he was court-martialed.

Sunday, September 20


In Unit Stalked by Suicide, Veterans Try to Save One Another

One Marine battalion has had four members kill themselves in just the last year. The soldiers have jury-rigged a system of Facebook notifications and Google spreadsheets to try to stop it.

Friday, September 18


The Road to Damascus

While a Marine stationed in Afghanistan, Austin Tice decided he wanted to become a war photographer. He entered Syria and filed stories for McClatchy and the Washington Post. Then he disappeared.

Friday, September 11


One Lawyer’s Crusade to Defend Extreme Pornography

Meet Britain’s “Batman of obscenity.”

Tuesday, August 25


Daniel Wolfe Is Killing Himself Live on Facebook

The search for an Iraq veteran on the brink of suicide.

Saturday, August 15


Mothers of ISIS

The stories of four women whose children joined the Islamic State.

Thursday, August 13


ISIS Enshrines a Theology of Rape

The system of organized sexual slavery at the heart of ISIS.

Rukmini Callimachi on the Longform Podcast

Tuesday, August 11


Twilight of the Bomb

A physicist remembers working on the Manhattan Project.


At War in the Garden of Eden

Visiting with the Christian fighters defending Iraq’s Nineveh Plains.

Saturday, August 8



The lives of six people who survived the atomic bombing.

Saturday, July 18


"I'm Not a Butcher"

An interview with a man who organized suicide bombings for ISIS.