Thursday, January 8

Avatar_57x57

The Search for Petr Khokhlov

A Russian soldier vanishes in Ukraine.

Tuesday, January 6

Avatar_57x57

Enemy Aliens

The history of civilian internment camps.

Monday, December 29

Avatar_57x57

The Tragedy of the American Military

The United States fights wars it can’t win using soldiers it doesn’t know.

Sunday, December 28

Avatar_57x57

A Road Trip Across America

Reporting on the “American Way of Life,” two years after the end of World War II.

Saturday, December 13

Avatar_57x57

Inside Monopoly's Secret War Against the Third Reich

Christopher Clayton Hutton hatched a plan to deliver Monopoly boards to British prisoners of war. The games were advertised as a diversion, but really they offered a way out.

Friday, December 12

Avatar_57x57

The Making of a Narco State

Following the money and the opium in Afghanistan.

Thursday, December 11

Avatar_57x57

Isis: The Inside Story

An Islamic State senior commander reveals the terror group’s origins.

Wednesday, December 10

Avatar_57x57

Why No One Remembers the Peacemakers

Why do we honor dead soldiers rather than the fighters who deserted and the activists who demanded peace?

Saturday, December 6

Avatar_57x57

In and Out of Time in Iraq

An essay on PTSD.

Wednesday, December 3

Avatar_57x57

Iraq: The New War

A 2003 essay that foreshadows the emergence of the Islamic State a decade later – an insurgency incited by American policy in Iraq during the early days of the war.

Saturday, November 29

Avatar_57x57

The Jihad Cult: Why Young Germans Are Answering Call to Holy War

More than 500 Germans, including a former rapper named Deso Dogg, have joined ISIS in Syria.

Saturday, November 22

Avatar_57x57

Losing the War

An essay, originally published over two issues, on how and why we forget war.