Wednesday, November 6

Avatar_57x57

Last fall, a team of American Special Forces arrived in Nerkh, a district just west of Kabul. Six months later, amid allegations of torturing and murdering locals, the team was gone. Shortly after they left, the remains of 10 missing villagers were found outside their vacated base. An investigation into a possible war crime.

Sunday, November 3

Avatar_57x57

Inside the N.S.A.’s mission to spy on just about everyone.

Friday, November 1

Avatar_57x57

The FBI hunts for the enemy within.

Thursday, October 31

Avatar_57x57

For years, Joshua Milton Blahyi, better known as General Butt Naked, was one of Liberia’s most feared warlords. Then he became a pastor. Today he visits the families of his victims to seek forgiveness for his sins.

Wednesday, October 30

Avatar_57x57

Each soldier in Iraq and Afghanistan generated around 10 pounds of garbage per day. Most of that trash—along with used equipment and medical supplies and other wastes of war—was burned in open-air pits, emitting a toxic smoke that many soliders blame for their poor health today.

Saturday, October 26

Avatar_57x57

In the shallow reefs of Ayungin Shoal sits a rusted-out ship manned by eight Filipino soldiers whole sole purpose is to keep China in check.

Wednesday, October 23

Avatar_57x57

During his nearly six years in the Air Force, Airman First Class Brandon Bryant flew hundreds of missions and logged almost 6,000 hours of flight time. He killed or helped kill 1,626 people. And he never left Nevada.

Monday, October 21

Avatar_57x57

Jamie Leigh Jones’s story of gang-rape in Iraq changed the law to help victims, even though she might not have been one herself.

Friday, October 18

Avatar_57x57

How sectarian violence has made life in northern Nigeria “incomprehensibly frightful.”

Wednesday, October 16

Avatar_57x57

Investigating the spike in Afghan-on-American military murders.

Sunday, September 29

Avatar_57x57

On Pham Xuan An, Time’s Saigon correspondent during the Vietnam War, who led a double life as an intelligence agent for Ho Chi Minh.

Monday, September 23

Avatar_57x57

Iranian operative Qassem Suleimani has been reshaping the Middle East for 15 years. Now he’s directing Bashar al-Assad’s war in Syria.