A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store
Avatar_57x57

The Trans-Everything CEO

A profile of the highest-paid female executive in America, who was born male.

Friday, September 5

Avatar_57x57

How to Get Into an Ivy League College—Guaranteed

Tony Ma will bet you as much as $600,000 to train your student for college acceptance. If the student gets into their top choice school, Ma takes the cash. Rejected? He gets nothing.

Thursday, September 4

Avatar_57x57

The Churn

A Texas border town fails to keep up.

Monday, September 1

Avatar_57x57

Steven Seagal's Fight for Mother Russia

The aging action star’s second wind abroad: political maneuvering, many guns and, most importantly, a market for his B movies.

Friday, August 29

Avatar_57x57

Jerry Football

A profile of Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

Avatar_57x57

Hollywood's Big-Money YouTube Hit Factory

Established media companies used to sue YouTube. Now they’re betting on it.

Wednesday, August 27

Avatar_57x57

What Happened to Motorola

The anatomy of a collapse.

Friday, August 22

Avatar_57x57

The Hedge Fund and the Despot

The Wall Street firm that bailed out Robert Mugabe.

Saturday, August 16

Avatar_57x57

The Economics of Pricelessness

How to understand the real-world value of things that are worth nothing and everything at once.

Friday, August 8

Thursday, August 7

Avatar_57x57

The Most Fascinating Profile You’ll Ever Read About a Guy and His Boring Startup

On Stewart Butterfield, the founder of Flickr and now Slack, a wildly popular, difficult-to-describe messaging service that has 38,000 paying subscribers just a few months after launching.

Wednesday, August 6

Avatar_57x57

Richard Branson Turns 50

Partying with a lost tycoon on his birthday.