Monday, March 21

Avatar_57x57

The Departed

On a November morning, Olympic rower and financial advisor Harold Backer left for a bike ride and never returned. His disappearance remained a mystery – until letters began arriving at the homes of his investors.

Tuesday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

Drew Brees Has a Dream He'd Like to Sell You

It’s a multilevel marketing company called AdvoCare. Or maybe it’s a pyramid scheme.

Sunday, March 13

Avatar_57x57

What Happens When the Surveillance State Becomes an Affordable Gadget?

Your local police department probably has a $400,00 device that listens in on cellphones. Soon your neighbor will be able to buy the same thing for $1,500.

Thursday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

The Incredible Rise and Final Hours of Fracking King Aubrey McClendon

He made billions. He lost billions. He was fired as CEO of the company he created. And on March 2, just hours after he was accused of rigging oil deals, he died in a one-car crash.

Tuesday, March 8

Avatar_57x57

The Patriot

Philanthropist and private equity mogul David Rubenstein is lauded for his patriotic donations, including half the cost of repairing the Washington Monument. He also helped save a controversial tax break billionaires love.

Saturday, February 27

Avatar_57x57

How Mark Zuckerberg Should Give Away $45 Billion

The difficult business of spending money well.

Friday, February 26

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, February 20

Avatar_57x57

The Golden Generation

Why China’s super-rich send their children west.

Tuesday, February 16

Avatar_57x57

The FBI vs. FIFA

How the feds flipped a corrupt American soccer official named Chuck Blazer and brought down the sport’s governing body.

Sunday, February 14

Avatar_57x57

Oil Is the Cheap Date From Hell

On the parasitic relationship between oil and the stock market.

Thursday, February 11

Avatar_57x57

The Wow Factor

How one billionaire owner outflanked two others and brought the NFL back to Los Angeles, doubling the value of his franchise.