Friday, November 15

Avatar_57x57

Monday, November 11

Avatar_57x57

How Selling Out Saved Indie Rock

On the importance of the jingle business.

Sunday, November 10

Avatar_57x57

Death at the Summit

The rise and fall of Intrade, the betting market for world events—elections, hurricanes, Academy Awards—and the death of its CEO near the top of Everest.

Friday, November 8

Avatar_57x57

An iPhone Tester Caught in Apple's Supply Chain

Bibek Dhong traveled from Nepal to Malaysia to test cameras for the new iPhone 5. When production ended abruptly, he and his coworkers found themselves stranded for two months without money, food or passports.

Avatar_57x57

The Story Behind Why AOL CEO Tim Armstrong Fired an Employee in Front of 1,000 Coworkers

It mostly had to do with Patch, the executive’s hyperlocal and unprofitable baby.

Friday, November 1

Avatar_57x57

The Prophet

A profile of personal finance guru Dave Ramsey, who built his biblically inspired get-out-of-debt empire on the premise “it’s within your power to not take part in recessions and the economic troubles facing American families.”

Tuesday, October 29

Avatar_57x57

Marty Sullivan Figured Out How The World's Biggest Companies Avoided Billions In Taxes

A profile of the policy wonk who shone the light and turned the tide on overseas tax havens.

Sunday, October 27

Avatar_57x57

Is Funeral Home Chain SCI's Growth Coming at the Expense of Mourners?

How Service Corporation International corporatized death, driving growth through everything from aggresive acquisitions, volume pricing on caskets and embalming fluid, a “strong flu season,” and pre-selling over $7.5 billion worth of burials.

Saturday, October 26

Avatar_57x57

A Tale of Two Drugs

New medicines can cost hundreds of thousands of dolllars a year. Are they worth it? A look at how a pair of pharmaceutical compainies set their prices.

Friday, October 25

Avatar_57x57

Wednesday, October 23

Avatar_57x57

Facebook Feminism, Like It or Not

The capitalist evangelism of Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In feminist manifesto.

Monday, October 21