Sunday, April 13

Avatar_57x57

Shai Agassi had nearly $1 billion in funding and a dream to replace gas guzzlers with electric cars. All he was missing was a plan.

Monday, April 7

Avatar_57x57

Two men, separated by more than 150 years, discover the folly of attempting Western-style capitalism in Micronesia.

Wednesday, April 2

Avatar_57x57

At the annual meeting of Berkshire Hathaway in Omaha.

Monday, March 31

Avatar_57x57

How Brad Katsuyama, a trader at the sleepy Royal Bank of Canada, discovered that the stock market was rigged and assembled a team to change it.

Adapted from Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt.

Saturday, March 22

Avatar_57x57

On (not) getting by in the gig economy.

Wednesday, March 19

Avatar_57x57

In Harpersville, Alabama, a traffic violation can lead to months in jail and a never-ending stint in a work-release program – what some refer to as a modern-day debtors’ prison.

Sunday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

Notes from a month-long voyage on a massive container ship.

Tuesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

Despite its association with piracy, BitTorrent is a company in its own right, and one desperate to hit upon a way to monetize its revolutionary file transfer technology.

Monday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

A profile of Alan Adler, the guy behind the Aerobie and the beloved AeroPress.

Friday, March 7

Avatar_57x57

How a top law firm destroyed itself.

Friday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

The author gets a crash course in health care pricing after having his urethra fixed.