A screenshot of the Longform App in a stylized iPhone

Our Free New App for iPhone and iPad

  • Every pick from Longform.org
  • Follow any publisher or writer
  • All articles available offline
Download on the App Store

Wednesday, June 4

Avatar_57x57

The Book on Publishing

The decade-long journey of a novel–Chad Harbach’s The Art of Fielding–through the unpredictable world of book publishing.

Monday, June 2

Avatar_57x57

Be Bossy

A profile of Sophia Amoruso, the 30-year-old CEO of Nasty Gal and author of #GIRLBOSS.

Avatar_57x57

Opportunity's Knocks

Tereza Sedgwick trains to become a nurse aid, the fastest-growing job in America. It pays just better than minimum wage and has one of the highest burnout rates of any career.

Saturday, May 24

Avatar_57x57

"Let’s, Like, Demolish Laundry"

The laundry wars of Silicon Valley.

Friday, May 23

Avatar_57x57

The Mansion: A Subprime Parable

On the urge to live in a house you can't afford, the "acceptable lust" of American life.

Wednesday, May 21

Avatar_57x57

The Many Lives of Aubrey Lee Price

A pastor-turned-banker fakes his own death after allegedly embezzling millions and defrauding investors.

Friday, May 9

Avatar_57x57

The $13 Billion Mystery Angels

The hedge funders who tried to give away a fortune anonymously.

Tuesday, April 29

Avatar_57x57

Whitewood Under Siege

The controversy-filled world of shipping pallets.

Sunday, April 27

Avatar_57x57

Uncontested: The Life of Donald Sterling

A profile of the Los Angeles Clippers owner, an oft-sued real estate baron with a documented racist streak and a penchant for heckling his own players, on the occasion of him winning an NAACP lifetime achievement award.

Saturday, April 26

Avatar_57x57

Game of Thrones

How airlines woo the rich.

Friday, April 25

Avatar_57x57

The Untold Story of Larry Page's Incredible Comeback

How the Google co-founder, forced out of a leadership role in 2001, came back to run the company 10 years later.

Wednesday, April 23

Avatar_57x57

No Exit: Struggling to Survive a Modern Gold Rush

The dark side of startup life in Silicon Valley.

An extended version of this story is available as an ebook.