Sunday, April 13

Avatar_57x57

A Broken Place: The Spectacular Failure of the Startup That Was Going to Change the World

Shai Agassi had nearly $1 billion in funding and a dream to replace gas guzzlers with electric cars. All he was missing was a plan.

Monday, April 7

Avatar_57x57

One Small Store

Two men, separated by more than 150 years, discover the folly of attempting Western-style capitalism in Micronesia.

Wednesday, April 2

Avatar_57x57

The Church of Warren Buffett

At the annual meeting of Berkshire Hathaway in Omaha.

Monday, March 31

Avatar_57x57

The Wolf Hunters of Wall Street

How Brad Katsuyama, a trader at the sleepy Royal Bank of Canada, discovered that the stock market was rigged and assembled a team to change it.

Adapted from Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt.

Saturday, March 22

Avatar_57x57

Pixel and Dimed

On (not) getting by in the gig economy.

Wednesday, March 19

Avatar_57x57

The Town That Turned Poverty Into a Prison Sentence

In Harpersville, Alabama, a traffic violation can lead to months in jail and a never-ending stint in a work-release program – what some refer to as a modern-day debtors’ prison.

Sunday, March 16

Avatar_57x57

Saturday, March 15

Avatar_57x57

A Passage from Hong Kong

Notes from a month-long voyage on a massive container ship.

Tuesday, March 11

Avatar_57x57

The Infinite Lives of BitTorrent

Despite its association with piracy, BitTorrent is a company in its own right, and one desperate to hit upon a way to monetize its revolutionary file transfer technology.

Monday, March 10

Avatar_57x57

The Invention of the AeroPress

A profile of Alan Adler, the guy behind the Aerobie and the beloved AeroPress.

Friday, March 7

Avatar_57x57

The Collapse

How a top law firm destroyed itself.

Friday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

An Unthinkably Modern Miracle

The author gets a crash course in health care pricing after having his urethra fixed.