Friday, February 28

Avatar_57x57

Andrew Ross Sorkin’s intimate coverage of Wall Street.

Monday, February 24

Avatar_57x57

An essay on how to turn a sizable book advance into a sizable debt.

Sunday, February 23

Avatar_57x57

PLAYBOY: Is it possible you set a lower value on privacy than most people do?

DENTON: I don't think people give a fuck, actually.

Wednesday, February 19

Avatar_57x57

Over the course of 25 years, he’s repeatedly toyed with the idea of running for president and now, maybe, governor of New York. With all but his closest apostles finally tired of the charade, even the Donald himself has to ask, what’s the point? On the plane and by the pool with the man who will not be king.

Avatar_57x57

The dissolution of Rupert Murdoch and Wendi Deng’s marriage amidst evidence of her affairs with Tony Blair and Eric Schmidt.

Friday, February 14

Avatar_57x57

On the adultery website AshleyMadison.com.

Tuesday, February 11

Avatar_57x57

Fifty years after Joseph Mitchell published "Joe Gould's Secret" in The New Yorker, one last question about Gould—the identity of his anonymous benefactor—is answered.

Saturday, February 8

Avatar_57x57

George Trow’s Within the Context of No Context was a brilliant, scary vision of a cultural end-time. Then, having described it, he lived it, spiraling into madness.

Hear Ariel Levy discuss this article and more on the Longform Podcast.

Monday, February 3

Avatar_57x57

An inteview with the Saturday Night Live producer.

Previously: The Longform Guide to SNL.

Tuesday, January 28

Avatar_57x57

How Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction, all nine-sixteenths of a second of it, changed TV, the internet, and American culture.

Monday, January 27

Avatar_57x57

Lunch with recycling tycoon Chen Guangbiao, the self-described “Most Influential Person of China,” to discuss his interest in buying The New York Times.

Friday, January 24

Avatar_57x57

Investigating the murder of a friend and colleague.