Friday, July 18

Avatar_57x57

One of a Kind

When a child has a condition that’s new to science.

Wednesday, July 9

Avatar_57x57

Friday, July 4

Avatar_57x57

I Was a Washington Post Reporter. And a Crack Addict.

On January 18, 1990, Mayor Marion Barry was caught smoking crack at D.C.’s Vista Hotel. The author was one of the first reporters on the scene. He interviewed guests, staff, anyone he could find. Then he got a room, called his regular strawbery, and got high himself.

Wednesday, June 25

Avatar_57x57

The Voices in Josh Marks's Head

A talented young chef loses control.

Tuesday, June 17

Avatar_57x57

The Secret to Getting Top-Secret Secrets

A profile of reporter Jason Leopold, who has reinvented himself after journalistic scandal by becoming what he calls a “FOIA terrorist.”

Friday, June 13

Avatar_57x57

Life, After

Living without your left arm.

Friday, June 6

Avatar_57x57

Local Story

How the Newtown Bee covered Sandy Hook.

Wednesday, May 28

Avatar_57x57

Shame and Survival

An essay on life as “the first person whose global humiliation was driven by the Internet.”

Saturday, May 17

Avatar_57x57

Editing While Female

“Places like the New York Times, Le Monde and the Washington Post are not given to elevating editors—of any gender—who would accept anything other than the highest of standards. As in tough, demanding, challenging. But there’s no doubt that many find this off-putting and threatening from a certain kind of woman. Like me.”

Thursday, May 15

Avatar_57x57
Avatar_57x57

Robert Capa’s Longest Day

How the famed war photographer covered D-Day.

Avatar_57x57