Monday, February 3

Avatar_57x57

In Conversation: Lorne Michaels

An inteview with the Saturday Night Live producer.

Previously: The Longform Guide to SNL.

Tuesday, January 28

Avatar_57x57

In the Beginning, There Was a Nipple

How Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction, all nine-sixteenths of a second of it, changed TV, the internet, and American culture.

Monday, January 27

Avatar_57x57

“"Most Well-Known and Beloved Chinese Role Model”"

Lunch with recycling tycoon Chen Guangbiao, the self-described “Most Influential Person of China,” to discuss his interest in buying The New York Times.

Friday, January 24

Avatar_57x57

This Is Danny Pearl’s Final Story

Investigating the murder of a friend and colleague.

Thursday, January 23

Avatar_57x57

The Man Who Disappeared

At one time, a whole generation of New York Times reporters wished they could write like McCandlish Phillips. Then he left them all for God.

Wednesday, January 22

Avatar_57x57

The Secret Double Life of Mister Cee, Hip-Hop's Most Beloved DJ

A profile of the Hot 97 DJ a few months after “he told the truth about who he is, even if it’s not entirely clear—even to Mister Cee himself, even now, to this day—what exactly that truth is.”

Monday, January 20

Avatar_57x57

Friday, January 17

Avatar_57x57

The Writer and the Puzzle: Richard Ben Cramer Couldn't Crack A-Rod

On the legendary journalist and the book he never finished.

Thursday, January 16

Avatar_57x57

Is This Thing On?

Why audio never goes viral.

Avatar_57x57

The First 48 Makes Millions Off Imprisoning Innocents

What happened when 21-year-old Taiwan Smart became the target of both police and a reality TV show.

Thursday, January 9

Avatar_57x57

The Steroid Hunt

What baseball writers did during the steroid era.

Avatar_57x57